Are We The Generation Of Overthinking?

in #blog5 years ago

IMG_3357.jpgIn a World where our every possible move and mistake can be seen and judged by the world, can we ever be our authentic selves? Welcome to the times where the Internet constantly brings new things up to be mad or upset over, while people seemingly just wait to catch those controversial moments on camera. People make dumb mistakes all the time, god knows I did things when I was very young, although those were not really deep mistakes, just enough for the lovely and drama-hungry Internet community to give me the “ you are canceled ”title.

I am happy that I grew up in a time where having Facebook was considered as cool and the only things we shared on there were copy and paste quotes, pictures from our last vacation and the annoying Facebook invites for games such as FarmVille and City Ville (Does anybody remember those games? I used to love playing City Ville).

I used to have my mistakes and arguments via Facebook and in Real Life, but they only remain in my memory.
I saw those people a couple of years later and we just laughed about those silly times. Nowadays, where internet people are either getting upset/ or hyped up (there is really no in-between) about controversial or as Wendy Williams would say some "Hot Topics" . Can you imagine that one mistaken word will follow you for the rest of your life? I would hate the feeling, I can't Imagine that something, that felt like a hundred years ago, would still haunt me.

It was the day that a very good friend of mine had a new Profile Picture, that I found to be interesting. To my suprise, She didn't ́t see "Interesting" as a compliment, I ended up explaining to her why that this wasn't shade, that I thought how the picture was interesting because it was different. I didn’t know that the word "Interesting" has become the new offensive word, I guess I will always be offensive to the Internet in one way or another. Special Thanks to my Friend who has inspired me to write about this topic.

At the end of the day, I might never be the Ideal Person for the Internet and if I could, would I want to?

Sort:  

Congratulations @dimitriospallis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75