Have gi, will travel and other musings on jiu-jitsu growth

in #blog6 years ago

I would like to first apologize for being so inactive on here for the last couple weeks. I was on vacation last week and swamped at work the week before.

MEA CULPA!

However, just because I was on vacation doesn't mean I was taking a break from training. Jiu-jitsu has proliferated to a point in the US that you can go practically anywhere and have a place to train. Therefore, it's always a good idea to pack your gi when traveling. The benefits you can reap from getting perspectives outside of your regular gym are immense. The jiu-jitsu experience is an ever-changing puzzle and every little piece helps.

For starters, I would like to offer some advice on traveling to other gyms. Not all gyms are the same and many have codes of conduct that may not be readily apparent to the first timer. The very first thing you should do, is reach out to the gym either in person or via email. You should include details like where you train, who your instructor is, and what belt you've achieved. You should also inquire about what the drop-in fee is. It's usually around $20 for the day but if you're lucky enough to have an instructor that knows everybody in the area like mine, most places will waive the fee. Next, when you get to the class or open mat, take a moment to observe some of the upper belts as they get ready. Do they bow before stepping on the mat? Do they have a place for flip-flops and water bottles? Sometimes a code of conduct is posted either in the gym or on their website. Read it! Basically, you're representing your gym, so don't make an ass of yourself. The same is true for when the instructor is teaching technique. Give them your undivided attention and don't butt in if you've seen something taught differently. You're a guest in their gym. Always be respectful.

That being said, I took my advice to heart twice on my trip to Virginia, my birth state and home for my first 25 years. First, I reached out to where my jiu-jitsu seed first took root, just outside of Richmond. In the years since I left, it had changed names and ownership, but kept the same black belt BJJ instructor. When I reached out over email, the owner was thrilled that I was coming back for a visit and was eager to help me prepare for my upcoming blue belt test. As it turns out, the owner was a blue belt when I first attended there all those years ago and is now a brown belt. I remember him beating me up pretty good back then. Neither he nor the instructor remembered me, probably because I used to have hair, but they couldn't have been more welcoming. Not only had the inside been remodeled, but the general atmosphere had changed as well.

After a typical round of warm-up drills, the instructor went over a classic armbar set up from full guard with a few extra minor details. There were an odd number of students at first so three of us rotated practicing the technique. Before when I was here, there were a number of students who tried to "win the technique". This is the extremely unhelpful act of shutting down what your training partner is trying to learn. Nobody gains anything this way. There's a time for that, and it's either in an open roll or during live drills. But that wasn't happening this time. The two other white belts I was training with were as eager to learn as I was.

Following the basic armbar set up, the owner joined in on the fun and paired up with me. Next was shutting down the defense to the armbar, a sneaky maneuver that I then realized has been done to me countless times. When most of us white belts feel an armbar coming on we cross our arms and clasp our hands behind our elbows. This is normally a temporary measure until we can adjust our body enough to keep our arm bent and maybe wind up on top...or get tapped by a more experienced player. I noticed this wasn't helping me against most of the upper belts and this technique was why. When I have someone fighting against an armbar in this way, I simply need to reach to the far side clasped hand and drag the back of my thumb and wrist down my opponent's arm. This will undo the clasp, and if my body is in the right spot, it's Armbar city!

I worked this and a few other variations of it with the owner the remainder of the class, often breaking to talk jiu-jitsu and share our experiences. The black belt took time to talk with us too and answer any questions I had, in his thick Brazilian accent. At the end of the class, he thanked me in front of everyone for coming to visit and had them wish me will on my jiu-jitsu journey. I can't wait to visit again.

Next it was on to northern Virginia for a stop at another gym just outside the DC area. I reached out to this one over email as well and got the usual formal response. Upon arrival, I noticed a basin near the mat for people to step in and sanitize their feet beforehand. Unfortunately, my good impressions of this gym ended there.

When I got on the mat, I introduced myself to the black belt instructor. When I told him where I train, he immediately scoffed and said something to the effect of, "Oh that self-defense stuff is fine but it's just not practical." Now of course, I was a guest in this gym and I have to respect the upper belts. I understand where he may be coming from, and in the regard of jiu-jitsu vs. jiu-jitsu, he's almost right. But the point of jiu-jitsu, a I have stated before, is self-defense. My school's self-defense curriculum is but one aspect of what they have to offer, but a major component of white belt through blue. Why? Because everyone in the street is a white belt. Sure, you have no need for the punch block series in a jiu-jitsu tournament because no one can throw a punch. But what happens if someone attacks you in the street? Getting punched in the face once drops you a whole belt level. You better know your fundamentals if you want to survive a violent encounter.

So, I bit my tongue and nodded in agreement, even after the instructor walked away and I could hear him talking to others about how silly self-defense is and the whole idea of testing for belts. This was clearly a competition gym. I also couldn't help but notice a lot of bronze and silver hanging up on their medals wall (my gym doesn't have a medals wall), but only one gold. Maybe their competitors bring their's home. I know my two golds are hanging on my wall. But what would I know, being from a self-defense based school.

I go through the standard warm ups with the class and pair up with another 4-stripe white belt for the techniques. I thought the instruction was sloppy, but at that point my bias had already come to the surface. Thankfully, it didn't seem like anyone was trying to win the technique at least. I get through it and decide to stick around for their open mat after and get some rolls in. When the bell rang, the only guy left open was a brown belt. He murdered me of course, but gently enough to not injure me. He had several opportunities to make me tap and I could tell he chose not to. That was a bit of a relief. Then I rolled with a 1-stripe white belt, though he was much bigger than me. I won't lie, the kid was good, and he may have even scored points on me, but neither of us could submit the other. I was little ashamed of my performance, especially after having my academy mocked. I certainly won't be going back but I'll look out for this gym's affiliation when I compete in hopes of showing them what traditional BJJ is all about.

The lesson here? Always pack a gi. Thanks for reading if you got this far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93