Daily Ramblings - Meaning of life according to Pablo Picasso

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

A friend posted the following quote on Facebook this morning and it hit a nerve.

The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.

  • Pablo Picasso

These days life is all about 'finding your purpose'. For years this question has completely stumped me. How do you find your purpose? Does your purpose find you?

I am 43 and I still don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Am I the only one? This quote did put it a little bit into perspective for me this morning though.

'Find your gift' - this is profound. Find what you are good at. What makes you you? I think my 'gift' is to help others in any which way I can. It is something that I've done over the years but I think in a way it came to the fore the minute my feet hit the sandy beaches of this rock I live on. Since being here I have met so many people and I try my best to help out with snippets of advice, a supper here or there or just a coffee or a whatsapp to make island life feel just a tad less strange and less lonely so in a way I guess I am 'giving my gift away by giving of my time, advice and opening up my home where I can to others'.

So now I wonder, am I living my purpose? Some days it certainly feels like it. Other days it feels like I am not nearly doing enough, not being enough, not purposing enough.

I often get tired of the hype around these types of messages on social media. 'Find your purpose', 'Be in it to win it', 'Quit dreaming, start performing' etc

There is so much daily pressure on us already, we should not indulge in people making us feel guilty for not being enough. Not all of us are the same. Some have found their purpose and are sure as shit of where they should be and what they should be doing. Some of us aren't and that is also OK. Life is not about winning or losing. It is about living and let live. Live, love, share and be kind. It costs you NOTHING!

The world needs each and everyone in their unique and special way. We weren't made to be the same, think the same, perform the same. I've made my peace with that.

For now I'll use my 'gifts' that I know I am blessed with and I'll share them with whoever crosses my path for the unforeseeable future because this is where I am at at the moment. Whether my purpose will be the same next week, next month or next year, who knows. It doesn't matter. When I get to that point I'll start anew in finding my gifts and giving them away!

Happy Humpday! Hang in there it is almost weekend again!!

Much love

Photos my own*

#tdp tag for @wesphilbin


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.karolien-thereslifeafterkids.com/daily-ramblings-meaning-of-life-according-to-pablo-picasso/


Sort:  

Great line , that leaves me to do one thing , and one thing only SEARCH AND FIND MY GIFT

❤️ I'm also still searching. Good luck 🤞

Posted using Partiko Android

Being fully present and keeping oneself in tune can create far more ripples than merely smearing some strokes on a canvas. No matter how masterful the creation is, It will never hold a candle to being available and transmitting a pure loving, healing signal to the universe.

Samastha Lokah Sukhino Bhavanthu

https://www.sathyasai.org/devotion/lokah.html

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73