Cultural movements: 60s counterculture

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

peace-2422719__480.jpg

We've all heard of hippies, right?

I think I was born in the wrong time. I'd love to be a hippy - like the real thing: the draft dodging, pot smoking, 'stick it to the man' kind of hippy. Wearing a kaftan and a headband, long hair blowing in the breeze. Singing peace songs and antiwar songs and songs of love.

Instead, while I'm no conservative (sing it loud, brother!) I wear white collars to work just about everyday, and there's no way I could ever get away with dressing like Jimi Hendrix - more's the pity. Missing the reference? It's from here:

...White collared conservative flashing down the street
Pointing their plastic finger at me
They're hoping soon my kind will drop and die
But I'm gonna wave my freak flag high, high
Wave on, wave on
Fall mountains, just don't fall on me
Go ahead on Mr. Business man, you can't dress like me
Sing on Brother, play on drummer

Jimi Hendrix - If 6 was 9

I missed my time, but I try my own way to be a little hippy on the inside.

Peace, man ☮️


May all beings be happy.

Photo courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

drwom.png

Register for Universal Basic Income here: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=3ac18f2d78

Screen Shot 2018-03-12 at 12.45.33 pm.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @drwom! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Why thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66