A long post is NOT always a quality one.

in #blog5 years ago

As a musician. As a vlogger.... The time it takes to contribute to my post is right around the same time it would take a passionate writer. I've noticed people and sometimes myself just give an upvote to a long, drawn out post. Not even reading but a sentence or two. There are more people not wanting to read as I observed this behavior. Therefore the entertainment aspect of this is most important to me. I create instant content such as videos or songs. Content creators have adopted a tactic called "Sham Shielding" This style of work in America first started in the United States military. That's right folks the strongest military in the world is the laziest. We basically know how to conserve our power until needed.

A "Sham Shield" is someone in service, typically an E-4 (fourth highest rank on enlistment scale) who has MASTERED the art of pretending to work. You know the ol' 'make it look good anyways' trick. These are people who put junk into something that is supposed to be quailty work. "Half Ass" if you will....

Well unfortunately I have something to tell you steemit blockchain. A lot of you are becoming Sham Shields. Because I've held that position in the military before under all of the qualifying factors, yes, I'm talking from experience. From spelling errors to uncorrelated sentences. This has to stop. Especially for me because I like to read. And I hate to read from a device therefore I will be printing out trees in order to know your content. If I'm hooked I will invest the paper and ink to indulge myself. But don't disappoint me because it will turn out kind of crapy for you the in end. When I'm not making music what else should I talk about? Just something for you to think about.

On the flip side but we talk to quality content creators at the moment. Don't feel like you need a long, extravagant posr get people's attention. You create the best content you can come out with. Especially today because tomorrow your fans will be flocking in once the News Stations start calling this the new Facebook. We never know when the rest of the world will catch up to the blockchain, But it sure smart to prepare.

20190210_094629.jpg

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Don't know if you intentionally meant to end it w/ "but it sure smart to prepare" but i took it as being witty so made me chuckle :D

Either way, cool post as i'm very new to all this and still trying to get a feel for things. So i found it helpful hearing your perspective, thx!

You have a very good point. Post doesn't have to be long form writing in a blogging community such as Steemit to be valuable for the community. Through my curation efforts I see so many "Sham Shield" post, from short form to long form articles; usually posting a youtube link, or copy/paste from other Internet resources changing a couple of lines of text here and there.. But it is pretty simple to not do that, and come up with something meaningful by just writing about your own thoughts, ideas, opinions and all. Even musicians using Steemit to post their work, many of them simply post their music. But how cool would it be when the artist adds some of his/her own thoughts to whatever is posted. It'll be the only way for a crypto based blogging community to survive, to have the majority of the posts to be somehow meaningful to parts of the community; and as you state: this can also be short form posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27