Kombucha: An Unusual Tea

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

IMG_6671.jpg

Have you ever heard of Kombucha before? I'm sure that many of you have. Kombucha is a fermented tea that has been consumed for thousands of years and it is thought to originate in China or Japan. It's made by adding specific strains of bacteria, yeast and sugar to black or green tea, then allowing it to ferment for a week or more. During this process a mushroom-like film is formed on the surface of the liquid. This is why kombucha is also known as "mushroom tea."

To be honest the home made Kombucha looks a bit weird. It's like an alien or an embryo growing in your vase and to me it feels like this thing one day will gain consciousness, realise that I'm the one who put it in there, get out, crawl out of its vase and kill me while I'm sleeping. I may exaggerate but I cannot host -let alone consume- anything that it's not looking good or at least decent. However I wanted to try this weird and beneficial for our health tea and when I found it in those cool looking bottles with no alien existence inside I got uber excited.

I have already drunk the lemon flavoured one and its taste was interesting enough.. Lemon was 100% absent and it tasted more like beer and tea with a touch of apple -nothing like cider though. It's not that I got obsessed with it but I liked it and since it is beneficial, I will keep buying it now and then.

It has the same health benefits as tea and it's also rich in beneficial probiotics. Kombucha contains antioxidants and can kill harmful bacteria and help fight several diseases. It may also reduce the risk of heart disease and help manage Type 2 diabetes.

Of course the homemade one must be better than the one I got but I don't have that option... If you decide to try homemade kombucha, make sure it’s properly prepared. Contaminated kombucha may cause more harm than good..

Sort:  

It's true! Great minds do think alike!

Optimized-KombuchaIMG_20180717_172927-2.jpg

Oh yes!! :))) You never stop surprising me!

γελασα με την περιγραφη σου...εχω την εντυπωση οτι εβλεπες πολυ (οπως ολοι μας πιστευω), X-files

Εννοείται!! Έβλεπα φανατικά!! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86