Well ok, I have Misophonia

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Before finding out that what I have is a disorder, I thought I was just being weird AF! Fortunately(!), I found out that it is a condition that some other people also have and it is described literally as "hatred of sound".

It has nothing to do with music, people talking or birds singing. There are some specific sounds (not the loud ones) that can drive me crazy! For example the sound of eating, chewing, sipping, slurping, tooth sucking, wet mouth sounds and muffled talking (I think I mentioned enough to make myself clear). Loud eaters are my worst enemy though. The only one I can tolerate eating next to me is my dog -in fact I enjoy listening to that sound. Doc am I acting paranoid here?

The sounds above can make me lose my mind. I cannot cope by blocking them out in any way. Once I start hearing them chaos comes. I become nervous, I lose my temper, control and my mind. I feel a panic attack running towards me and then I just leave the "noisy" area to calm down.

Friends keep telling me "c'mon just don't focus there", "try to relax", "don't be such a bitch Im just eating" and all these advices believe me, DON'T help when I am about to stab you with your fork.

I know its my "fault" and nobody else's but I have that disorder since I was a little kid. My grandma also had the same, so genes are being unbeatable here. And don't worry, I have never done any harm!

Sort:  

I totally agree with this, i hate people eating with some sounds and im sorry to say this.
i respect people but i want to eat and enjoy my food.
this is a good post, its not a discrimination though but different people has different opinion and this is our opinion.
for this post i upvoted you and followed you.

Happy to find others with that haha :) Of course it has nothing to do with showing no respect to other people... Its just something beyond my control :) Thank you very much! :)

you're always welcome!

Yea it's very hard for me to hear those sounds too. Probably not to the degree that you described though! My girlfriend loves those Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response videos, ASMR for short, where people eat really crunchy pickles and whisper into a super sensitive microphone. It kind of weirds me out!

Really?? Omg these videos would be my nightmare!! I didn't even know they exist :P

Apparently lots of people are really into hearing other people crunch pickles and other weird eating sounds lol!

This is what sounds more like a disorder to me haha

and there isn't any treatment or something? that end ups annoying to both sides without actually to be none's fault :P i really had no idea this was a disorder... if you come to the meet up the next Saturday and you here a disturbing sound by me let me know before you kill me :P

As far as Im concerned there is no cure for that and yes it actually be annoying for both sides..Haha after posting this I thought to myself "hmm probably after that they wont let you in next Saturday" :P no worries Im harmless :P

Harmless for the time being :P

https://discord.gg/N7yTRuN

auto einai to link p sou lega gia na mpeis sto chatroom tou ellinikou community p xoume isxuei gia 24 to link

haha Harmless so far... :P

Thank you γιατί δεν το βρήκα και ένιωσα λίγο ηλίθια να ξαναρωτήσω :P

nai to fantastika k to xa 9exasei k ego telios :P opote misi ntropi dikia sou misi dikia mou

Ας το μοιράσουμε έτσι να νιώσω λίγο καλύτερα :P

Wow, congratulations for finding the strength to share it publicly at first! That means you found ways to deal with this disorder of yours, well done!

If you allow me, I will disagree with the phrase "genes are being unbeatable here".
The book I am reading at the moment talks about exactly this: genes are not our destiny... The name of the book is "Biology of Belief" by Dr. Bruce Lipton. You may find it really interesting, it's full of evidences and explanations on this subject with a very easy to understand language.

Thank you! Well thats me, I love myself either way :)
Very interesting! Actually those are the genres I enjoy reading (I hardly ever read literature) , so I will go and buy it! Thank you so much for the information!! :))

You are welcome!
I'm glad to hear that these are the genres you enjoy reading, same goes here... Anything that has to do with personal development and the unlimited abilities of the human body, mind and soul are always of my interest.

Regarding the book and since you are planning to buy it, have in mind that the latest edition in english is updated and expanded, which i don't know if it's translated in greek yet.

I would also recommend you to have a look on a technique called EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique). Some "miracles" have happened with it.

Oh amazing! English or greek is fine by me :) I will check about the updated one as well ;) Very useful information, especially that EFT sounds very intriguing! Thanks again! :))

You are welcome! :)
Make sure you get the 2015 edition (10th anniversary).
Yes EFT is really interesting and powerful! Hope it will be valuable for you :)

This is a very interesting syndrome, one that I can't say I had ever heard of before.

What, if any, types of treatment have you attempted? I think that if it was me, one of the things I would try would be hypno-therapy.

Yes I admit its quite interesting :P Haven't found any types of treatment... The only one I can think of is earplugs... I have never tried hypnotherapy you think that might work?

Congratulations @eliakon, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 12013 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4073.46. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

You are not alone. I had to laugh because I too am not bothered by the chewing of my pets, nor any sounds they make for that matter. I wonder why that is? I also don't like white noise. Having the TV on as background noise makes me crazy. Fans whirring away seem to have a suffocating effect on me.
Thanks for making me feel like I am not alone my fellow Misophoniac. :)

Haha Im so glad to find other Misophoniacs! Maybe we love our pets that much so its ok hearing them do that nasty noises :P Oh so you have more sounds annoying you thats cool! lol And yes, you are not alone! Lets conquer the world! :P

Kill one and everything will pass))) (joke)
Be happy, smile more often. When we are happy, we do not pay attention to such irritants.

Hahaha Guess that would be effective :P Thank you for reading my post and your advice!! :))

Hi again ! I would say the usual quote : 'Nobody is perfect' . In my opinion if you start to observe your reactions when this happens , it will be a first step to keep you more calm . If you start to write down your reactions then by the time you will reprogram your mind to change reaction. The key is , YOU to have the control and not the mind..
Nice post-resteem(I see you are doing perfect on steemit. Well done !)

You think I can win over my own mind? Thats interesting! I'll try and I'll tell you!! :)

Thank you so much for your kind words and for resteeming :))

We all can but we are educated to think different. Just give it a serious try and you will see the first results soon. I guarantee.

Ok! If you say so, Ill give it a try! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10