Steem and Charity

in #blog5 years ago

I stumbled on a post which songht to raise money and galvanise support for the people of Venezuela. At first glance I thought it was a pretty neat thing to do, as we all know how much the people of Venezuela have suffered in recent time.
money-case-163495_640.jpg

Then I got thinking on how much charity work has been done on steemit.com and its overall impact on both the beneficiaries and the platform.

Basically I've been wondering just how sustainable steem is used as a charity medium. I don't want to give too much thoughts of my own here as I am more interested in other people's opinions on this.

One thing I will say though that this is by no means a denegration of the lives this platform has touched via charity. I can attest to quite a few from groups like @familyprotection and lots of individuals.

Sort:  

I think Steem is fully capable of having a global outreach sustainably its whole existence. There will be plenty of scams though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Personally private individuals who know each other are a better source of reference.

I have a pretty standard policy of not giving money to people I don't know on the Internet.

Now if I have built a relationship it might be different. I just wish a lot of people would slow down a bit before throwing money at every sad story.

Hi @empress-eremmy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.781 which ranks you at #4959 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 11 places in the last three days (old rank 4970).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 228 contributions, your post is ranked at #74.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80