Italian Meetup: Before meeting everyone

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

There are only a few days left until the marvellous Utopian and SteemSTEM meetup in Italy. I'm so thrilled to meet all of you in person finally. On the other hand, I am quite stressed about the time before the actual meeting, as I am going to be there earlier. Well, not exactly there. I will be in Italy a day early, and I will need to survive. Somehow.

The event is going to be from September 19th to September 23rd. After some planning and decision making, we found an enormous house in Lucca to stay in. Unlike most of the group, I am going to arrive in Italy on September 18th. However, as it is the day before the event even begins, I decided to stay in Venice for a day. More precisely, I am arriving in Mestre where I need to find my brother's colleague so that I have a place to sleep over. That is still on my todo list for tomorrow.

Furthermore, unlike many other meetup attendees, I decided to go by bus. The idea may sound quite crazy as the trip takes around 12 hours. On the other hand, I believe I would only save a little time if I decided to fly to Italy, but would have much more to organise and do. And, of course, it would cost me more money. What I need for travelling is enough space for legs, to not be crouching because of low ceilings, and if possible not to have many snoring people around. Actually, the last one may not be necessary as I suppose I can sleep even in a noisy environment.

I have another shameful fact to share. I have not yet decided which routes to take in Venice to spend the day in the best way possible. I am not worried about walking the whole day, although I will arrive at around 7 am. If I take some time to put my bag away and settle in, I guess I'll be good to go at approximately 9 am.

So, any ideas and recommendations are welcome. You can see that there is not much time for planning and I know only little of what would be the best to do, including what to take. I'm considering the following week more casually, even though I am well aware that we have lots of stuff to do over the days and it may be the most exhausting week for me in a long time.

If you are around on September 18th, you now know where to find me. I will be walking in the streets of Venice and enjoying my first trip to Italy.

Sort:  

As I'm sure you know, there is absolutely no way to judge this post by our questionnaire. So I'll just say that it was fun to read, and that I hope y'all have fun in Italy without me. And that you take a fun Gondola ride in Venice.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Gondola is over-rated, especially if you get stuck in the Gongola rush-hour :)

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 15 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Tomorrow morning I will be in Firenze, Lucca is nice especially if you get to see it at night. I am hoping you will survive on gelato and macaroni :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25