Millennial Jobs

in #blog5 years ago

mood.jpg

Being a blogger/vlogger/youtuber or a gamer are the most millennial jobs out there. They are something that didn’t really even exist ten years ago, and while they are not completely new these days, there are a lot of us, yet most people still don’t understand what we do and why we do it, or why anyone would be willing to pay to see what we do. The amount of money these days that revolves around the blogging and gaming sphere is insane, and it’s only going to grow exponentially.

Let me entertain you


People like to be entertained, from the times of people dancing around a bonfire, to watching gladiators and bullfights, to hearing someone play the piano and going to see ballet, to photography blogs and short films on the internet.

Creating content, be it in photography, funny youtube videos, or gaming, are all entertainment, just like music, theatre, movies and novels, Netflix, are entertainment.

Of course there are other types of blogs and youtube channels, informational ones too, and I think those are easier for people to understand, because they provide some information you might not be able to find elsewhere. An almost hands on tutorial of how to build a bird nest or how to fix your computer, useful. It’s the entertainment part that people seem to have a problem with understanding.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely despise some types of content creators and will never ever understand why anyone would want to watch them, but clearly someone does, and I don’t have to. It’s quite simple, you choose what type of entertainment you like, you watch/listen to that one, and let others pick their own, no need to fight about it.

Misconceptions


Being a blogger is the most millennial job one can have, and I have it, and I hate it. Not the job, being a blogger is awesome, but I hate that it is so millennial and has a really bad vibe to it in general. If you say to someone that you are a blogger, it’s usually a huge turn off, you know, like in Tinder. Many men even have it on their bio “if you are a blogger, swipe left.” Or so I have heard…

I think people in general only know of one type of blogger stereotype, and it’s not a very positive one. When you say to someone that you are a blogger, they instantly think of you as a self centered, full of yourself princess who is promoting sugarbearhair vitamins, teeth whitening kits and what ever that is that people sell their souls for.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not hating on promoting and advertising in general, it’s just that most bloggers/influencers on the lower levels have to promote some really shitty stuff to pay their bills and I’m not gonna do that. I’m all for Louboutin, Bentley and Tiffany’s contacting me for payed posts and Finnair flying me to exotic destinations, so do hit me up if you like what I do. The reason why I never started blogging before Steemit, was exactly this, there was no way of making money unless you plaster your blog full of all types of shitty advertising.

The other misconception about blogging is that everything you do will be up on the blog, every meal you have, every place you visit, and every person you hang out with ends up on a #storytime. You know that the above does not apply to me, but of course a stereotype is there for a reason. I like to keep quite a lot of my personal life separate from the blog, and I respect the privacy of my friends and family members. When I am hanging out with someone, I try to keep the blogger-me on the down low.

Being a blogger in real life is quite different what people think it is. The megastars of blogging, the ones with millions of followers and extravagant brand deals, portray a very different image of what blogging is for a lot of people. No matter what the image on Instagram and anywhere else on the surface is, the reality is that we wear sweats and sit on our computers for the majority of the day, eating noodle cups and drinking cheap wine. It ain’t a bad life, not at all, but it’s different from what people think.

I’m so grateful to have Steemit, where I have the freedom to do what ever the fuck, and not have to make shitty sponsorships and follow some rules that the company gives me in order to get payed.

Sort:  

You’re such an anarchist 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not really 😅

This is so relatable. I usually say I'm a writer or a blogger when people ask what I do. But for a long time, I'd just say blogger and you always get this "huh, cute" response. Just the other day, someone asked how I'd spent my day and I was like, you know, wrote for a bit, went out for a walk and to look at people, shit like that and I could tell from their tone (even though it was a text) they were not impressed. Dude, that's my job, what the fuck do you want from me?

I know, I hate the word blogger too, because it's not like the stereotype at all. No one I've met on Steem is like that and it pisses me off that when I say it, people are immediately going to think of that.

The amount of money these days that revolves around the blogging and gaming sphere is insane,

Riight? My brother's into gaming and he's always telling me about this or that game dev who's doing a game and all the support they get from the community. And I don't mean big game devs either, just average joes. It's incredible and I think that since it's so new, people don't really know how to handle it.

I wonder if in 50 years' time (if we're not all robots), 'blogger' will get the same respect as 'lawyer' or 'doctor'...

Great post, really enjoyed this.

Right, right!!? It's so hard to describe what I do in a simple way without sounding like a stuck up blogger girl, and without getting a million follow up questions that you might not wanna answer to just for any old random person. Oh and god forbid if you say that you spend all day at home on your computer, people think that you do nothing. Because you have to have a regular job or go to school to make a living, those are the rules!

Tell me about it. And it's all good and fine if you're like 'fuck the rules', but what sucks is that many people aren't like that and they kinda hate you for being like that, you know? Because in a way, you're saying the system doesn't work or at least, that there are alternatives to it. But they're part of that system, so they don't like you saying it ;)

WHATTTT! You're a blogger???!!!

Unfollows

Hahahha <3

I know, hate to break it to you, but I've been a full time blogger for over a year! 😱

Wouldn‘t have guessed that getting swiped left on Tinder might be a mature concern to you 😜

It isn't, that is just what other girls have told me 😇

The best sort of blogging is where the person behind the keyboard shows their own personality, otherwise the bloggers with sponsorship agreements who shill products are no better than infomercial salespeople.

That, or like me in a past life, they're a staff writer obtaining content from media releases and creatively regurgitating the content.

There's no fun, no soul in that. Only in writing what is your true, unmanufanctured opinion is the only way through ti a brave new world of media!

Posted using Partiko Android

I totally agree with you. I love writing and when I found about Steemit I was so excited because I could post my thoughts without all that negative stuff like commercial and promoting things which I don't get along. Posting here is not my job but it makes me happy. And I found so many interesting stuff here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

there we go(even though i just read the word in bold).


hopefully article 13 wont change this!

I'm not worried because my content is always original.

good point - many steemians produce their own, genuine content.

Maybe if you are someone who just recycles memes, then yeah, you are gonna have a problem because you don't have any ideas of your own. I very much believe in people owning their own material and if you need someone elses, you pay for it.

i dont believe in copyright but in the potential being creative every day. copyright mainly serves big corporations, not the small creators.

Big brands steal small content creators content all the time, it sucks. But I don't give a shit who you are, if someone creates something, it's theirs and theirs only. If you wanna make something, you make it yourself, or you ask for a permission to use someones elses pictures etc.

can we actually track pictures posted first on steem back to their original post and username if they appear somewhere else in the internet?

I think google image search should do the trick.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

"youtuber", "influencer" and other "Jobs" are not "Jobs". They are BUGS of a world that is in a transitioning state from money economy to information/attention economy. Once the world has stabilized, education keeps up with technological development and universal basic income is established, this phenomenae will settle and disappear again :-)

I agree with you on that these are not really jobs, they are means for making money. But other than that, I strongly disagree; universal basic income is a utopia and money is not going anywhere, and neither are blogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06