Past 48 Hours

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

F237EF3D-80E4-42AD-9159-A515E092D280.jpeg

The monthly bloodloss has had me bedridden for most of the past two days, and high on painkillers. That might be TMI for the blockchain but I don’t really care. This time of the month I give myself the go-ahead to break a lot of the rules and quidelines that I set for myself in my normal life, especially when the stabbing pain is extra stabby.

I made my bedroom into a nice dark den by closing the blinds and pulling the heavy velvet curtains over them. I gathered some candies, juice and painkillers to my bedside table. I even allowed my laptop to come to bed, where it is not allowed during normal workdays and started binge watching Bates Motel. I have watched the first season when it first came out, but don’t remember much about it so I started it again. I really like it, but I kept dozing off and sleeping most of Sunday.

When I finally crawled out of bed at noon, I did venture out to buy myself a chair to the balcony and a lambswool hide, both of which I spotted in the construction and interior convention on the previous day. Sadly my balcony chair of choice was sold out and I had to order it. When I was paying for the order, my memory blacked out when I was trying to type in my bank card pin. I was so embarrased! I knew I remembered the right numbers, but I couldn’t remember which order they should be in. I tried twice but didn’t want to risk getting my card closed so I gave up. Thank god I remembered I have Apple Pay on my phone and their money machine had the option to pay with that.

After that I decided to lurk back home really fast before I do anything stupid like get hit by a car or walk to a lamp post. I was definitely not alright in the head yesterday, and not much better today but getting there. This is why you have been seeing some really random posts from me today and yesterday, as I’m in no mood to be creative or take any pictures.

Well I’m always pretty random with what I do, but now I haven’t been shooting anything in almost a week. Will have to try and get back to real life tomorrow, if I sleep well in the coming night. First I’m gonna watch several episodes of Bates Motel, now in the livingroom because bedroom is off limits for Netflix again. The only rules I follow are my own.

Sort:  

UGH - it took me so long to 'accept' how the fucking menstruation really screws you over and I remember all the awful days at the office where I was almost bent over 100% of the time from pain :-/ Becoming a freelancer really helped me accept these days are just shit and need to be full of comfort. For me that is chocolates, Netflix, a woollen blanket.

Anyway, I'm watching the last few episodes of Bates Motel in an hour or so: opened a bottle of Red Wine and going to watch the series finale!!! It's sooooooo good! Cringe watching. Love it.

Take care Eve <3

I was just wondering how the fuck did I survive all those years in the kitchen when I had my period during workdays. Now I try to make sure I have nothing planned for the first day of the cycle so I can really take it super chill and be home alone.

Ah, I’m so happy I’m still in the first season of Bates Motel, it’s so damn good I really wanna savour it.

it's not something you control... its biology,.... so screw the rules!
Lay in bed go dark, binge Netflix... screw the rules for a few days!

Yes these days I make sure I have nothing planned and can stay at home to take care of myself really well for a couple days.

"The monthly boodloss" is OK.
We could rename it into "The monthly blood carnival"

However what I have learned is that it doesn't fee like a carnival. Except maybe the "I drank too much and fell on my face yesterday"-feeling the next day.

I hope you are sleeping soundly right now. Hormones are assholes, but when they are not harassing me I can see how interesting it is that they effect so much of our existence. I've had that brain fog you mention quite a bit over the last year as the hormones have adjusted from no longer breastfeeding. For the first several times it happened I would get sort of panicked, because I felt so loopy.

Those velvet curtains sound wonderful and that white thick blanket looks like absolute comfort. Hopefully it is soothing tonight.

Hormones are a bitch but more you understand them, the easier it is to work with them. For the past year I’ve really started to track everything that goes on in my body so I know better what is normal and what is not and when to expect certain things.

Ps. My brain fog was due to pain killers this time, tho I get those sometimes if I’ve slept really bad and it feels awful to be dumb.

I remember reading somewhere that the reason women live longer than men is because of the blood loss every month. I dont know if that is true, but it makes us feel better about this crap :)

Maybe it's the bad blood coming out and better one being regenerated.

Maybe. Minus all the crappy symptoms, the actually bleeding is a little bit purifying feeling.

Girl I am in the same boat right now. So important to allow ourselves and our bodies to rest and recover during this part of our cycle. We're expected to carry on through it which is okay sometimes , but we are shedding our uterus lining you know! lol. Rest is the remedy. I love wheat begs & the essential oil diffuser too.

I have no idea how I got through the days when I was still a chef and had my period during a workday. I’m so glad I can suffer home alone now and take hot showers and stay in bed.

Doctors tell me I need to loose blood (give blood in my case) because of me not having the normal bloodloss every month... My hemoglobin is too high... But I'm sorry to hear you have been in pain :/ Get well :)

I could use some extra blood and I’m sure my hemoglobin is on the lower side.

Maybe I should just go and eat a steak.

They haven't invented blood transfer online..otherwise I could help out.. But a steak sounds pretty good 🥩

I forgot to buy stake :( maybe tomorrow.

I lost a lot of blood to this month when I hit my head trying to clean under my kitchen table. Hope you’re feeling better!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ohh shit, did you have to go get stitches?

What so we learn from this? Do not clean.

I also learned not to put twinkies on my pizza

Posted using Partiko iOS

I get that stabby type of pain in my ankles sometimes. Totally sucks! Enjoy the Netflix and rest up!

Posted using Partiko Android

Go drink some coffee 😂🤷🏼‍♂️

Posted using Partiko iOS

rest , hope you get better and jump right back to the best you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86