Over the river and thru the woods, to Hannaford's! ๐Ÿ’ฆ๐ŸŒฒ๐Ÿ‚

in #blog โ€ข 5 years ago (edited)

Fall is fading to winter, and it's a little bit sad to me because I'll be moving West early next year.

So this will be my last New England autumn for a while, and maybe like sort of forever, other than deliberately just wanting to come back.

But since I don't believe in driving cars, I'm able to make the most of it and soak it in on my way to the grocery store.

In the summer and earlier fall you'll find kids and dogs and moms pushing babies all along these trails and bridges, but now the slush reminds us that winter is near.

I enter the market and select my cart.

Lovely.

This is exactly what I want in a shopping cart. They have plenty of them, and they're easily accessible. Hannaford's does a lot of little things right.

This is what the staff looks like, from just a little bit afar:

I don't know why I've only recently taken a liking to Hannaford's. They rose to prominence for me when I realized they were selling Gardein for $3.99 a pop, which is a little bit cheaper than pretty much everywhere else.

I wasn't sure if they'd have the Beyond Burger, but I was happy to find them.

And I'm happy that they sell them in the refrigerator of the meat section, as opposed to the freezer of the vegan section.

I don't need to explain why. I just am.

The lettuce was piled high, which is great to see because it means it's probably new and fresh.

This guy in the blue noticed me taking a picture of the lettuce and slowed down a little to let me do my thing:

I was embarrassed to be caught photographing lettuce, but I had the presence of mind to snap a picture of him so that he can get credit and be immortalized for the considerate act.

My lucky day:

I don't typically buy the "Chili 'N Lime" version of Frank's, but NSA $1.50 off when it costs $2.59 is hard to think twice about.

Then I realized some of the other flavors had coupons too.

"Hot Buffalo Wings" is more up my alley, but I had already gotten attached to trying the "Chili 'N Lime". Rather than buy several, I decided to just pocket a couple coupons.

There weren't that many coupons hanging around, so I took only 2. But I'll remember this exists and go look again soon.

For what it's worth, this is the best Tostitos product on the market today:

This lady screwed up:

Prior to this picture, she for some reason backed out of lane 4 and investigated whether lane 5 was open (even tho the light is off and nothing about it looks open).

As she became a lane 5 person, another lady pulled into lane 4 and had validly taken a place, or at least was in clear motion into the lane to the point where i.e. you can't just like run in front of her or something.

Maroon sweatshirt harries herself back towards lane 4 and basically presses perpendicular against the good lady and says "I thought lane 5 was open" (or i.e., "my lane, get out").

It doesn't matter what you thought, or that in retrospect it was bizarre to think lane 5 might be open.

It has no bearing on whose lane it is at this point. If you leave to explore other options, you don't also get to keep your place.

The good lady then came over to my lane, and I commiserated with her.

"That was close," I said. "I feel like she cut you off."

It's a little bit of a leap of faith on my part, because I don't know for sure what level she's on and if she realizes what just happened to her.

But her reaction was really satisfying-- she was as appalled as I was. She actually clarified that it wasn't even close, that it was a clear cut-off. And that she almost said something, but let it go.

My cereal tipped over and fell to the other side of the belt, where only a customer in the adjoining lane could reach it, and my new friend helped me get that customer's attention.

And then we talked shit about maroon sweatshirt, and I paid for my groceries and left.

Scores

Hannaford's: 9.1
guy in blue: ๐ŸŒŸ (star)
maroon sweatshirt: โŒ (demerit)
me: 7.8

I'm at a really high level in general, but there was nothing special about any of this. I got in their way a couple times taking pics and forgetting where my cart was. And I could have jumped in as the referee to maroon sweatshirt.

Sort: ย 

LOL this was really funny and appealing to me for some reason. I kinda love the blow by blow of the trip to the grocery store. Maroon sweatshirt was clearly in the wrong here and glad you immortalized the considerate guy in blue.

๐Ÿ˜† I'm glad you liked it carl! Strong endorsement. The simple things can be fun and interesting sometimes! Haha

since I don't believe in driving cars,

We really gotta talk about this haha.

Lovely. This is exactly what I want in a shopping cart.

LOL @full-measure, the man who knows what he wants in his shopping cart. Could you get anymore awesome!!!

Haha. That guy in blue is a real one. I give him an 8. Yaa its kinda embarrassing to photograph lettuce haha but its really no big deal. You do it for us and we appreciate it ๐Ÿ˜‚ real one. real one. He's immortalized!

Bad maroon lady. Bad bad.

If you leave to explore other options, you don't also get to keep your place.

The great rule of life.

It's a little bit of a leap of faith on my part

True. True. Nowadays honestly any form of human interaction is a leap of faith, what with everyone and everything being so extra sensitive.

I'm glad she was cool about it and you all talked shit about maroon. Pay attention, guys, this is how genuine human interaction's supposed to be.

Haha your ratings are awesome. Both the choice of rating type to use and the final scores. Totally agree!

I think I'll start doing this when I go out more!

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿค“๐Ÿค“

the man who knows what he wants in a shopping cart

๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ‘

Guy in blue is a beauty!

Baddd maroon badddd

I'm glad she was cool about it and you all talked shit about maroon. Pay attention, guys, this is how genuine human interaction's supposed to be.

Ya! I think she probably really liked that I saw what happened and was on her side. Like it's just a little thing, to lose your spot in line, but it's good to get the confirmation that maroon was wrong there and it isn't like the whole world has gone craycray

Haha true. I would definitely appreciate that kinda gesture too!

Yeah I love the ratings/ scores. You should totally do this Ras the Multifarious

haha okay then...okay then...I will. I will. only the thing to do now is leave this great room of mine where I'm cool and safe and king and there's no maroon lady :)

๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜

ย 5 years agoย (edited)

Looking at the picture of the staff - they actually pay people to bag your stuff for you?

In the UK you are expected to bag your own groceries. And the "self-serve" tills where you are expected to both scan and bag your groceries are increasing.

Ya it's usually bagged for you, although often enough it's just bagged by the cashier, especially if it's a small amount of food. Depends on the supermarket, but sometimes the bagger drifts lane to lane wherever they're needed.

There are some supermarket chains who are known for cutting costs, where you bag yourself. They usually are different in other ways too, like they don't carry all the same products, or rotate products based on when they can get them cheap etc


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

yayyyy ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ‘

Hi @full-measure!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.411 which ranks you at #2184 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2182).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 339 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89