Introducing SOLA!...the end...

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

Over a year ago, there were circulating posts from Steemians who are joining one of the earlier competitors of Steemit - it's called Sola (Social Layer).

Image result for sola sol

source

 

It was thought to be the next generation social media app in the decentralized world which aimed to incentivize all parties: users, 3rd-party developers, & the core team. And they have a well developed app that is intuitive enough for a non-tech person like me. It utilizes "swipe" on mobile screen for actions: like, pass, amount of tip that a user would give to the author.

I actually signed-up to see how it work and I honestly enjoy using it for quite some time. Using the app is fun, I can literally view 100 posts (in Sola it's called Cards) in a few minutes and tip users with a limited supply of "tip points" (Action points) that was automatically provided to me on a daily basis.

I wasn't the only one who signed-up, even the big names in Steemit also join and cross-post in Sola.

Many have thought that it will succeed and could potentially overtake Steemit's rank on the decentralized social media space.

After few weeks of posting in Sola, I grew tired of using it, which made me stop posting anything there and leave my account inactive for anything else. I guess my intuition is telling me that I'm just wasting my time in that social media app.


Just yesterday, a random thought brought me into the Coinmarket cap website and found myself looking for the current value of SOL (Sola's token), to my surprise the market cap worth is "only" well above $3,000? And so I looked at its ranking which is exactly #1783!?


Since I knew that at some point I earned some Sol tokens that I hope are still exchangeable, I went to open the app, it's too late to learn that the app doesn't work anymore. I may not have a lot of Sol tokens but it frustrates me to think that the project didn't survive and I didn't even knew about it until now. I never really invested any money to the project but I believe I invested my time and effort on it.

Sola is actually a good project but sadly it didn't have enough "glue" that bonds the community together. It lacks the social connection among the users even with a decent infrastructure and a good mobile interface. Having said that, it only re-assured my belief that the "Steem community" is truly one of the most tenacious in the blockchain space.


source

Long live Steem!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://funtraveller.repollo.org/2019/04/12/introducing-sola-the-end/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06