YCU PubMedia Workshop 2019

in #blog5 years ago

Hello everyone! I am actually just taking a short break from my study chain. I don't want to break my promise to you guys so I am keeping you updated. Well, I should really be more updated here than on my Facebook account. Facebook is just so cluttered!

Speaking of break, I will be sharing to you what happened to me during the seminar-workshop that I joined which somehow had been like a short break for me. I was not really expecting that I would take part from it -- much more I was not expecting that I would be part of the organizers as well. I was, in impromptu task to document the events including the promotional videos from the different representatives of young centrists across the country.

As a Videographer

Anyway, this is a selfie that I took before the PubMedia workshop started. The first day, or should I say noon served as a break for all the participants, but not for the organizers. The representatives from the different chapters just came and some even arrived the following morning. I got to meet some people from the Lugait (part of Misamis Oriental, the province) Chapter and Pagadian. I haven't met the rest of the folks who came at the evening because I went out to dine with my parents. I also was not prepared. I thought I would only be staying out. Haha!

The food hall, which has also served as our session hall was pretty chic. There is nothing that I could complain though because there were only few participants. The place was also very conducive for learning and also for sharing our insights during the workshop period.

Oh! Before I forget, my work just started as their videographer two hours after I reached the venue. I just felt glad that Michael, the committee head, entrusted me with the task although we are not from the same committee.

It was fun helping them processing their answers towards the following issues:
A. Rule of youth in the Philippine Politics
B. Social Media
C. Personal Advocacy
D. My Dream for the Philippines

Since there were talks from different speakers on the second and third (which was the last) day, I took videos of them in between. It really took me three days to complete it. I am just hoping that the videos would be edited and then published as soon as possible.

What I hate about staying in the hotel

Although the room is very need and tidy, and my roommate is really friendly, I never really liked staying inside the hotel room. For one, I had experienced of having someone/something poking my toe while I was half asleep. I could also hear the noise from outside.

Speaking of the noise outside, I had a terrible night. Some of the participants went out to drink (including I) on the nearby drinking place. It was almost one in the morning then when I decided to head back to our room. My roommate was still with some of the guys then. I was just so tired because prior to the drinking session, I already had some shot of Smirnoff. Aside from that, Roland, Nae, and I were strolling for more than an hour because we were looking for Barangay 31. I just do not know why I agreed with the terms of Roland on looking for that certain sign for that Barangay. Unfortunately, we were not able to find it.

It was just an hour after when my roommate came. I was shocked on what she confided to me then. One of the participants harassed her because he wanted to kiss her. I was like, let us just talk this over to the committee as they would surely make an action from this. But few minutes after our small talk, the guy was then outside. He was knocking the door nonstop.

Nae, for one does not want to talk to him so we decided to ignore him. We thought that he would stop eventually. But he did not! He kept knocking the door like a psycho. I mean, dude! If you knocked thrice and the person inside the room did not open the door, it would be best to leave.

An hour after, he went back with another guy. Those two irritating bastards! I really want to slap the hell out of their faces then. I am also irritated by how the second guy insisted that I hid one of the participants in our room. Like, what the hell is it with him if it is true? Second, he has no right to barge into our room which he did by the way. Third, I am really not that type of person.

I have also thought that the first guy just dragged the other guy, made a story, so that he would have a chance to talk to my roommate. That was really lame!

As a very blunt person, I really talked to those guys, told them how they pissed us (Nae and I). I scolded them for being so unprofessional. Their actions were really inappropriate.

Newfound Friends
Aside from the headache that I got from those two, I am just happy I made friends with the rest.

This guy below is one of them. He is Tata. He is one of the SK Chairperson in Manila. We just clicked in an instant because he's very approachable. He is also very idealistic!

Meanwhile, these guys are Ray and Nabil. Ray is from Eastern Samar while Nabil is from Cotabato. I loved working with them especially on how we approached on rebranding the organization's logo and meaning.

These three guys on the other hand brought joy to the group because of their antics, especially Jake, the one wearing the dotted polo shirt.

So yeah, that is it for now! My one hour break has just ended. I am hoping to see some of them real soon for another leadership activity.

Have a great day everyone and stay safe always!

Love,
Johanna Gail

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It was quite good workshop, I enjoyed reading your post.

Congratulations @gailbelga! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77