Stranded in a Thunderstorm on a Sublime Sunday

in #blog6 years ago

image-2018-06-10.jpg

One crack of thunder, and we were booted out of the ferry. Stranded in a thunderstorm. It was an iconic summer day for #SublimeSunday…until the rain. Through the hammock we had to go.

image-2018-06-10 (2).jpg

Lead the way, Green Sleeve.

Mosquitos attacked my exposed limbs with their pin-pricks. The air was heavy with that brooding feeling—a storm was undeniably near, but not yet here. With the intertwining live oak branches and muscadine vines, the hammock looked like a safe haven compared to the exposed beach. The foliage was like the snug walls of a large house, with one twisting hallway connecting them all. The buzz of life was all around us—the cicadas made sure of that. Home away from home.

“We’ve probably got forty-five minutes before it starts raining,” I said, looking skeptically at the smooth grey clouds over-head. It wasn’t like they were deep grey and spirting out lightning every direction.

Two minutes later the heavens broke open. I’ve never been good at weather predictions.

“This is why they call it a canopy,” my husband said, choosing a thick patch of vines to stand under. It was like an umbrella with a few too many holes. Big, cold drops catapulted down at random places, accumulating, until my purse had a puddle on top.

image-2018-06-10 (3).jpg

“Sing rain-rain-go-away-come-again-another-day-Little-Johnny-wants-to-play,” the tot said with enthusiasm. The tot does not know about the existence of titles. She slurs the first few lines of a song together instead - effective and humorous.

"Finally, an appropriate time to sing this song," I said.

The cicadas were singing too. Silly humans go away, try it here another day; Too big to hide, on a leaf’s underside; Silly humans go away.

I held a little hand as we walked along the slick boards, singing away. The nausea I had from the heat was suddenly gone. All the sweat was being washed away. Lately I’d forgotten how the summer thunderstorms that come almost every day renew the earth, and everything in its path. The smell of summer rain drowned out the smell of sunscreen, and every other smell.

We made it out into civilization again. Huddled under the small overhang of the public restrooms was a group of bikers. They had big mustaches and leather jackets with emblems on them. They might have been tough at some point, back when it was sunny. Poor little pussycats, afraid of the rain.

image-2018-06-10 (4).jpg

The rain wasn’t planning on going away without a fight.

But, things that come on strong seem to peter out before too long. Just like those tough bikers. As it turns out, it was still a #SublimeSunday in the end.

image-2018-06-10 (5).jpg

The view from my swing; just me, some puffy clouds, a carpenter bee, and the blue glow of dusk.

Sort:  

Beautiful photo of the beach and clouds, I had to laugh at the wooden bridge and Green Sleeve - that's a really awesome shot.

The rain on your windscreen - that's really bad must have been so hard to drive with so much water blocking your view.

Thank you for sharing your #SublimeSunday - thoroughly entertaining and I really enjoyed this post.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I'm glad you liked it. It was a fun, wet/dry, adventurous kind of day.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.24$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

lol" those poor little pussycats afraid of the rain!"
I don't know how you make a common afternoon so interesting to read about but it's great! thanks @ginnyannette!

Thanks. Some afternoons just want to be written about.

hahahaha I came to the comments to quote exactly that! I would love to see their faces if someone say that to them.
I've met some bikers, tough guys on the outside, the most cool and gentle on the inside.

Yes, I think these were the "cool and gentle on the inside" type. They tried to make room for me under their little overhang, but I was like "Too late, already soaked".

You'll remember this day - I still recall a Sunday outing with my family at the beach when we had to shelter under a covered picnic area in the midst of a lightning storm. I was eleven. These little adventures stay with you long after the day is through :) Nicely written

The strange occurrences do have a way of being cemented in the mind. Surprisingly it was my first time stuck in a storm. I guess my parents were better at predicting weather than I am.

Congratulations, your post received 8.15% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnjgeddes! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Ah.. that blue glow again. You should make a necklace out of that, and raindrops.

That sounds like a beautiful necklace.

I'm starting to believe you don't have much luck with the weather... or maybe rain loves you... one of those two...

The rain loves me. It's stalking me.

I know you enjoyed that blue dusk. We have been having far too much rain here too. Flooding all over. I am over it. I am glad your Sunday ended with the swing at dusk.

Lots of weather extremes lately. I don't know how the earth is accommodating so much water here.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Reading the sky ought to be on your curriculum!! We still know when the rain is coming.....I learned something by accident that I actually haven't heard anywhere....and this is that leaves turn bottom side up before a storm. It happens every time.

Do you know how good you are at writing? Each of these "blogs" as you call them, are a chapter for a book....one worth reading by many people.

Have you ever read Maeve Binchy? You're style reminds me of her - not the same - but the same feeling of comfort and sleepy story calm.

Haha, yes, I need to work on sky reading. That's very interesting about the leaves - I will pay attention to that next time it rains, which no doubt will be any minute at the rate we are going.

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your support. You boost my confidence, my friend.

I have not heard of Maeve Binchy, but I will look into her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83