A year later, I've come back to Steemit.

in #blog6 years ago

My last post was at a crazy time in 2017, doing something that I had never done before, crowdfunding a video game! But completing that campaign was only the beginning of a much bigger series of events. Some good, some bad, but it all adds up to how I (unintentionally) left Steemit for a year.

Old habits die hard, and in busy times I find myself reliant on the same quick and lazy Twitter/Reddit/Facebook/YouTube media loop for information and entertainment. It's embarrassing to admit I had almost forgotten about my Steemit account entirely within a few months of that last post. I loved engaging in the longer-form content that is celebrated here, but that format takes time and energy that ended up getting swallowed in new responsibilites.

Fresh off the Kickstarter we were deep in our next stage of development, to support more than just iOS, plugging into new gaming communities online, meeting some incredible people/fans/supporters, but also dealing with some unexpected obstacles. Most notably, the full force of mother nature herself when Hurricane Irma showed up in our town of Naples, FL. Here was our house and street the morning after (and some video I took with the family as well):

Screen Shot 2018-06-08 at 12.57.12 AM.png

Screen Shot 2018-06-08 at 12.58.13 AM.png

Took almost a month before things were back to normal. Delayed for sure, but progress continued. We finally launched our completed account system and website in December, but work on the game was still only just beginning. Foundations are one thing, building the house (especially one that suits many devices / platforms) is a whole other beast, especially with only one dedicated programmer on the team. Fast forward to today and the battle continues, with equal mixtures of successes and roadblocks as we approach our next playable build (you can see what we've been up to over at our Discord, just check out the announcements if you're curious).

Thats the last year in a nutshell, obviously very simplified, but figured I'd share a rundown after being gone so long. And to be clear, I do still enjoy my list of "comfort zone" social media sites thanks to a few prominent personalities I follow there. But I also can't help but notice something has changed and I think both creators and followers have felt it in the air (the YouTube "adpocalypse" being just one example). It's been a good reminder to support new communities that run on different models, like Steemit, since it seems like more than ever the titans could fall.

But I'm happy to be back! I'll be sharing more specifics in future posts (as well as a new music list soon! for anyone that might've seen my previous "Best of SNES" post), so keep an eye out!

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85