24 Hours in a Day

in #blog5 years ago

I was reading an article a couple of years ago and they talked about life as burners on a stove. You only have 4 burners on the stove and can only run one at 100% of the time. They were basically saying that if you break down your life into Family, Friends, School/Job, and Hobbies you're only able to focus on a few at a time. If you're in school and working a job chances are you're not going to have very much time for friends, family, or relaxation.


Source

I'm starting to realize that in my life right now, but I break it down into my job, wife's job, Steemit, family. I've noticed when I try and help my wife push her business off the ground I am limited in how hard I work at my job and the time I have available to try and keep up to date on Steemit. If I try and get more consistent by posting at least once a day on here to build up my following, everything else starts to suffer.

One thing that I've also been trying to do without or with less I guess is a better way to put it, is sleep. Between my beautiful daughter and staying up late either working on Steemit or making the wife happy / less stressed by working on some of her stuff I'm probably averaging 4 - 6 hours of sleep a night at best. I think it's starting to slowly catch up to me, but I'm trying to push through. I'd like to get more than 4 hours a night, but 6 I think could be a nice average to shoot for each night.

Another thing I won't give up on is time with my family. Today we went to the funeral of my wife's grandma and had a great time with friends and family. I am willing to cut back on the burner when needed to a slow simmer by throwing on a movie with my son and taking an afternoon nap, but I refuse to completely shut off the family burner. I once heard that you need to spend as much time with your kids as possible because you're really only "guaranteed" 18 summers with them and that is it and that really hit home for whatever reason how short our time is with them.

I'm sad to say, but I've friends back in Texas that have been pushed off to the side for the most part. I check in them every once in a while, but don't keep updated with them on a regular basis like I probably should and they definitely deserve. I hope one day when everything settles down they can forgive me, or at least understand what it was taking to push my life where I want it to be hoping we can start a business as a family that will give us the freedom we want, but only time will tell.

I just wanted to share a short update on what is going on in my life. If you enjoy my content give me a follow as I'm almost to 2000 followers. I know this is a mostly useless number as a lot of these accounts are probably dead or bot, but it's still a nice goal to hit and something I've been working towards! If I need to tomorrow I'm going to make a post about pushing to 2000 followers and if I do I'll just make a post about reaching 2000 followers :P

Sort:  

There are quite a few similar saying out there to that. While it’s true. Sometimes being better organized can go a long way. Other times you end up sacrificing time in one area like sleep that frankly impacts everything else to the point it would been better to get that rest in the first place. Many these days seem to try and automate as much as possible to free up time for other tasks. Which is not always the greatest thing either.

I dont think my work is suffering much. There are only a couple of tines at work I had to get up and do something else. Staying on point and not getting distracted is one thing Im trying to do better on Steemit. I spend too much time chasing down too many rabbit holes.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 6.27% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75