The Lost "Ghostface" Tapes now Found on Off The Record

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Off The Record! A Fresh Weekly Album Review segment brought to you by @stickykeys!

20th Edition
October 9th 2018
Ghostface Killah
"The Lost Tapes"



It's a really happy month for me this October. Not only is it my holiday, and I get to spend time with my family and friends such as @hhtb founders @vandigital and @djlethalskillz in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, but it is also a month of really excellent Hip Hop album releases! For this week, we will be covering Ghostface Killah who also goes by Tony Starks sometimes. I remember catching Ghostface Killah and Raekwon, both from the legendary Wu-Tang Clan, in Singapore a few years ago and got right up to the stage thanks to some media tickets that my friend managed to score and their heart and soul is still in their music from over twenty years ago, even when they gave a speech about their deceased friend and brother, Ol' Dirty Bastard, I felt the hairs standing on my arms. Even ten years after his passing, their love for him and his music runs deep.


Okay, enough reminiscing, let's get into a little history of Ghostface. Dennis Coles was born May 9, 1970 and not much else is known about him as he was growing up. He was the room mate of founding Wu-Tang member RZA and he helped to recruit the other seven members. He dropped his first album, 'Ironman' in 1996 which debut at #2 on the Billboard 200. It featured more soulful-sounding samples in the beats than the previous Wu-Tang releases, and his future solo albums would follow a similar style. Ghostface signed to Def Jam Records in 2003 where he released six albums until his departure in 2012.

'The Lost Tapes' is Ghostface Killah's tenth solo album released on October 5, 2018. With thirteen tracks at forty-two minutes, it features incredible lyricists like Snoop Dogg, Raekwon, Bishop Lamont, Michael Rapaport, E-40, Cappadonna, Big Daddy Kane, Ras Kass, Planet Asia, Masta Killa, Killah Priest, 38 Spesh, Tricky, and many many more.

Ghostface Killah - 'Majestic Accolades' feat. Planet Asia & Hus KingPin

 


I'm going to keep this review short, it's a great album with chill soulful beats. The lyrics and writing on this album is no doubt on point with the long list of feature artists, both from the Wu-Tang family and not. It's nice for a long road trip (like what me and @vandigital did this past weekend), but don't expect it to be a banger before you head out to a party. I hope you enjoy this album as much as I do, and always, feel free to leave a comment! One Love!



Stay tuned for the next edition and be sure to follow me at @stickykeys! Also if there are any albums you would like me to review, drop a comment below.






Steemed from our Blawg with SteemPress : https://blog.theblockchain.hiphop/2018/10/09/the-lost-ghostface-tapes-now-found-on-off-the-record/

Sort:  

Awesome album, I wrote about it as well.. check my review.

Dope! Will check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10