My don't do list thoughts - is it really that scary?

in #blog6 years ago

Hi, guys!

Haaaah, it's been a while since I wrote such post. But recent comments to my posts make me to do it again. 

I have a foot banner I use in every post I make. I will place it in the beginning of the post this time so everyone who's reading this could pay attention and read it to understand what I'm talking about:

So, during last few days I received a couple of comments that say the following:

 I notice you never upvote any of your followers comments. I would imagine that gives them less incentive to upvote or comment on your posts. Not to mention the picture you add at the bottom telling everyone what they aren't allowed to do. Just my 2 cents. Hopefully i am allowed to voice my opinion here without getting banned or attacked. 

 by @thedonfreeman

and

 As a side note about your footer banner, it may be effective to a certain degree and allow your comments to be filled with meaningful conversation, however I believe that it does not do much service to your blog/brand. People will still post these things regardless and you will continue to ban them. Right now, with each post I will continue to see a "Do Not" list. And the overall feeling it brings is that you are easily annoyed and intolerant. This may even discourage people from leaving a comment. I know this may sound a little harsh but I just wanted offering you an honest opinion. 

by @yogjoshi

Sooooooo:)

I began thinking about my list and about these comments. First of all - about not voting for comments. Yep, I don't upvote all comments, I do another thing - I just go to commentator's blog and vote for posts there. Isn't it better? If I understand the reward algorithm right - it's better for people I vote for, and this will make for them a bigger reward then if I just voted for their comment. 

But my list... My list deserves more attention.

First of all I must say that I'm a steemian for a year and a half. I'm not quite an early adopter, but close to it. And I remember this platform without spammers. When general access was opened tones of spam gushed here, and most of them sounded like "Good post!" "Nice post!" "Thank you for sharing!" "Keep it up!", and people kept sending the same comment over and over again to hundreds of posts. And they still do.

Am I easily annoyed? Damn, yes! But it's not the point. he point is - my blog is like my on-line home, and actually I don't like when someone enters it in dirty boots. Spamming is dirty boots. So if you come to someones blog, someones post just for spamming (as "Nice post". May be you think that it's a compliment - but it's a spam), be ready that it's owner can be unpleased  with it.

All comments about my banner I receive from newbies. So I can make a conclusion that they are just nice people who yet don't know how annoying all listed comments can be if you see 3-5 of them under each of your publications. But anyway it made me thinking - may be it's really excess? I mean, I know that spammers will spam, haters - hate, sun - rise, but still I'm not a golden coin to be liked by everyone.

What do you guys think? Here I mean constant readers of my blog. May be I really should replace it with something more pleasant?:) May be something like this, with no extra words?:

Sort:  

I would prefer to see a banner that is explaining what you like to do on Steemit rather a banner that is telling me what not to do.
This is one of the step of Marshall Rosenberg non-violent communication. This process had improve my life a lot.

Да все правильно: если работа нравится, апа достаточно. А спамеры пускай идут лесом.
Единственное, я бы шрифт немного поменяла, тяжело читается. Может потому многие продолжают спамить

В то же время если человек пришел чисто "спамнуть" - баннер он читать не будет и сделает то, что собирался в любом случае. Он же занят, ему 100 постов в час проспаммить надо.

I don't even notice it anymore, but I also figure that if I somehow accidentally do one of the don'ts you'll let me know XP Think the only real major issue you have is the second last point because that's pretty much exactly what most spammers do XD

goatsig

Actually I think it's completely OK to use all these phrases is "don't list", but if they're included in a valuable comment, a conversation starter. But if the go alone, just like "Nice post", it's 99% that you can go to commentator's blog, open the comments section and find there 100 similar comments made with 20 seconds interval.

Nah girl, I'm with you. Spammers should know that they won't be lightly tolerated.

If you like the post up vote the post...

If you have something real to say, and if your link is relevant feel free drop a comment...

If not shove off (and take the pointless and annoying bots with you thaaanks!)

I'm happy to hear someone agreeing with me! Especially about the bots lol:)

Sometimes i run out of words and just wowed by your very creative artworks so I just shut my voice and upvote and not comment because of the fear of that foot banner. But, I really understand the point of that banner. There was even a time when I want to make something similar but I am still very small in steemit, just almost half-of-a-year old here.

But, I also have noticed that you went to one of my artworks as well upvoted it and commented it, i was very happy with it.

Yes, haters gonna hate. Spammers gonna spam.
So, just continue what you do, I really suggest you dont take that away in your blogs, @inber.

Thank you for your opinion!
I assume that the banner really is too scary. May be it's just me, I don't see anything scary in it, while other people do. May be I just have to change it a bit:)

That is so kind of you... and i think that would be best :)

You need to say it spamming is increasing on here so good on you! 💯🐒

When I just started on Steemit, I didn’t know how to comment in a right way and didn’t know what were the rules. I was reading a lot to find out what is appropriate and what is not. So it takes time for new people.
But there are people that keep doing the same thing and leave the same comments asking to follow and upvote.
It’s a bit irritating when the same person keeps saying: please upvote my latest post in all her comments... So I was thinking myself to get a banner similar to yours:-) The thing is I’m afraid that people who spam don’t really care about the content and don’t read it, when other might get offended.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73