Seeking for time killers - my new experiment with time management

in #blog6 years ago

Hi, guys!

Last times I make experiments with my life all the time, and today I started another one.

Do you know how many hours a day you actually work? And how many hours do you rest? And how many of them are just wasted? It can be a surprise if you'd actually knew. I decided to find out.

Image credit

I love testing different systems of time management for freelancers, and the one I'm using now (developed by Yana Frank) has a task in the very beginning I always failed to do before. It's sense is in writing down every single activity that took part in your day and also write how much time did it take. If you spent our time at work you can't just write "8 hours of work", you have to do it like "writing letters - 20 minutes", or "coffee break -  40 minutes". You also fix the time when you woke up and when you went to bed. In the end on the day you can see that you were awake, for example, for 14 hours. And then you count all minutes and hours of fixed activities. Spoiler - very rare they will match with these 14 hours of being awake. Usually people loose about 4-5 hours at day one.

On the next day you do the same.But now you're already more experienced, and you remember to write down things like "driving to work - 40 minutes", or "brushing teeth - 10 minutes". And in the end of the day your scheme matches better.

What is the point of all this? First - to see where do you waste time instead of doing quality work or having quality rest. Yes, the second one is important too! And the second point - you find out how much time actions actually take, and it makes your future planning easier and more structured.

Yes, it can be boring. And at the same time it would be great to do this exercise for at least a week to receive more or less stable statistics.

I'm on day one:) Now I will go and make a note - "writing a post for steemit - 20 minutes":) 

Sort:  

Lol! Looking forward to finding out how that one works out for you :D just the sound of it is doing my head in so I know i would chicken out of trying XD

Don't forget to count your comment replying time later ;D

goatsig

Not that crazy;) But I wrote down 4 minutes for washing the floor, and now I know exactly how ling it takes me:)

I would find this exercise exhausting, although I suppose it could be rather informative. I'd probably have to add on another hour of rest after putting this much effort in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94