The end of the first day of experiment with time - useful app for time tracking, and my full story

in #blog6 years ago

Hi, guys!

This morning I created a post about new time management practice I currently try on my own skin. It's goal is to find out how much time everything you do actually takes, and with help of this information create a more productive planning.

Image credit

So, all day long I was writing down everything I did, and also wrote the time it took. For example "washing floor - 4 minutes". I thought it takes 15, but actually it only takes 4. Reading appeared to be three hours today, while I thought that I just read for an hour or two. So, I made a few discoveries:)

When my hubby came home and I told him about my experiment, and complained that it's quite hard to write everything down all the time he said "Why don't you use aTimeLogger app?". There you can create a list of all your activities, and then just tap "start" and "stop", it will track time for you.

So, I downloaded the app and you know, now I can recommend it to you. It really is super useful if you, like me, need to track your activities for some reason.

Actually my reasons are quite simple. I need to know my limits. I need to know how many hours of work fit into my day without damaging me, lets say it this way. Here I can tell a story: 

Once I made a big project, I had to make a lot of illustrations in a very limited period of time. So I worked 24/7, thinking "I'll finish it - and then everything will be OK. I just need to finish it, and then  will be back to normal life immediately".  I was super wrong.

Image credit

Did I finish the project on time? Of course I did, I used to be really responsible when it comes to my work. But after I did so everything didn't turn out "OK". I broke my sleep, and I no longer could fall asleep for more then 40 minutes. Food became disgusting for me, so I hardly ate a bit during all day, and I started loosing weight in an unhealthy way. My psychological condition was horrible, I had anxiety attacks all the time.

Image credit

What has happened? I just burned out and used all force limits my mind and body had. So it took much longer to recharge then if I was working in highly productive, but still healthy regime.

So, that's why now I'm tracking my time to find out what I ACTUALLY can do, and what I, unfortunately, can't. Soon I plan to go for study, and I really need this info to form my schedule. Plus I need to take my bipolar disorder into account - and it makes everything even more difficult. Tomorrow I will go on with the experiment:)

Sort:  

cool app Inber. I am constantly trying to tweak my schedule so I don't burn out and I still get to feel productive. It's actually pretty hard to do. maybe this app would be a good idea for me.

Try it, it really can help to fix schedule:)

this is insightful. Apart from helping to know one's limit, I think it will also help cut down on the lenght of time we unnecessarily spend on certain activities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76