Anticipation in Amsterdam

in #blog5 years ago

That either sounds like the name of a trashy novel or a bad garage band. I don't know which.

I'm sitting at a Starbucks in Amsterdam after a lovely all-night Delta flight. My strategy for Europe travel works like a charm. I take an OTC sleep aid when I get on the flight and pretty much sleep straight through. By the time they are serving breakfast prior to landing in Amsterdam, I'm feeling rested and acclimatized to Europe time.

That said, some help from Starbucks is quite welcome. (The canned cream they use is a bit sour-tasting to me, but that's okay. First world problems. I'm not complaining.)

SteemFest: It's today! It's today!


SteemFest

I will be jumping on my flight to Krakow shortly. With life as busy as it is, I haven't been able to focus on the enormity of what is transpiring. Or that I'm going to two back-to-back conferences — first Steemfest, then a tech conference in Munich.

Yesterday I was texting with one of my sisters from the back of a Lyft driver's car on the way to the MSP airport and I said, "By the way, have I told you I'm heading to Poland and then Germany for 10 days?"

She was all: "No! What? When? Why?"

So, yeah. The activities of my daily life, my job, my commitments... it all keeps me pretty darn busy. So much so that my own family doesn't know what's happening with me.

I plan to spend SteemFest meeting new people, learning about the apps and other opportunities associated with Steem.

Ciao for now!

Animated signature


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/11/07/anticipation-in-amsterdam/

Sort:  

I wish I was there. :) It's sometimes only long after do you realize what you did and how much you enjoyed it. At the time, you're kind of burdened with the details of figuring things out, but the real value is in all the memories. Hope you have massive amounts of fun!

I wish you were here too, @negativer. For one thing, I think it would restore your faith in Steem. The optimism of some of the people who are deeply involved is quite infectious! For another thing, it would be so fun to hang out with you!

Bad, @jayna, bad @jayna. How can you not tell your family about steemfest? :)
Wish you a great time over there. Stay safe, have fun, learn and share.

Ha ha! I know!

Hahahha you will enjoy for sure.. And it does sounds awfully familiar that the family and friends dont have a clue what is occupying your time.

When I said at work earlier in the week I was going to Krakow, they general answer was something like'why on earth would you don that'

I mumbled something about blockchains and decided to leave it there hahahah

Sometimes it’s better left at the minimal detail level! 😆

Have fun, @jayna! You totally deserve few days of Steemit madness. 🙂
Looking forward to the interesting post you will be writing upon return.

Thank you! Yes, I will definitely share some on-the-ground updates!

Hey, @jayna,

I'm excited for you, and by now I expect you've been having a ton of fun at the actual conference...

I look forward to reading the reports that I have no doubt you'll generate after you digest things and when you have some time.

Cheers!

- @creatr

😄😇😄

@creatr

Yes! It’s wonderful and overwhelming. I am trying to find time for a post. 😊

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @jayna! You have received a personal award!

SteemFest 3 Attendee
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99