Do not read this test post... unless you like quotes (and steempress)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I am trying out quote methods to make sure I understand what happens to quote tags in posts to Steemit from WordPress via the steempress plugin.

A few days ago I wrote a "lessons learned" post about my adventures and learning curve in developing my WordPress site and setting up steempress.

In this post I'm going to test two methods of creating block quotes. The side benefit for you, if you are reading this, is that you get to read some fun quotes. Yay you.

Shakespeare quote


This famous quote is from Hamlet, Act 1, Scene 3.

For formatting, I've done the following:

  • Indented the whole paragraph.
  • Italicized the quote.
  • Enclosed the content in quotes.
In other words, this is the fully manual process of formatting a block quote.

"Neither a borrower nor a lender be; for loan oft loses both itself and friend, and borrowing dulls the edge of husbandry."

Winston Churchill quote

Sir Winston Churchill

For this quote, I am using the Wordpess blockquote tag, which looks like this in the toolbar:

blockquote

Or, if you're a keyboard shortcut person, you can use Shift-Alt-Q. (But that's technically not shorter than clicking the quote icon. Just saying!)

"All the great things are simple, and many can be expressed in a single word: freedom, justice, honor, duty, mercy, hope."
I love that. One could also add "love," "sincerity," "authenticity," "caring," and many others. Thanks SWC!

Ayn Rand quote


For this quote, I am doing exactly the same thing as above. My burning question, in this test, is whether this next blockquote gets indented twice due to my theory that Steemit does not recognize the end blockquote tag. (See the lessons learned post for what happened with my series of blockquotes in a previous post.)

Note that in order to fully test this, I've added this Any Rand content and quote before adding the blockquote tag in the Winston Churchill quote. (In other words, I'm testing to make sure that when I experienced an issue with blockquotes becoming inadvertently nested within block quotes above them, it wasn't a user error. I will look at the HTML code to make sure I don't have nested tags too.)

"Achievement of your happiness is the only moral purpose of your life, and that happiness, not pain or mindless self-indulgence, is the proof of your moral integrity, since it is the proof and the result of your loyalty to the achievement of your values."

Robin Williams quote


One more! For this one, I'm going back to method one, using manual formatting.

"For me, comedy starts as a spew, a kind of explosion, and then you sculpt it from there, if at all. It comes out of a deeper, darker side. Maybe it comes from anger, because I'm outraged by cruel absurdities, the hypocrisy that exists everywhere, even within yourself, where it's hardest to see."

Well, that's it for this quote test! I'll share the results in a subsequent post.

Thanks for reading!

Animated signature


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/07/13/do-not-read-this-test-post-unless-you-like-quotes-and-steempress/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78