Mindvalley

in #blog5 years ago

image.png

On the 21st of June, I attended a conference/youth day put together by the people at Mindvalley. I have to say, it was one of the most educational seminars I have ever attended and that's why I wanted to share what I learned and why I think everything talked about at that seminar was utterly brilliant.

Backstory

@axynos showed me the Facebook event for this seminar and I read it through and decided it was for me because the topic of this seminar was education overall. Mindvalley is an education technology company that publishes products focused on personal spiritual development and lifelong learning. (Source) I plan on studying education and everything that comes with it, so I thought that this was an opportunity to cease immediately. I also invited my girlfriend, who thought it was a great idea as well.

What was the most important thing I learned?

Everything became clear to me when Vishen Lakhiani, the CEO of Mindvalley, started talking about end goals and means goals. The explanation for the difference between them is quite clear: with end goals, you are not willing to compromise. They are exactly what you want, word by word. Then Vishen asked us to write down three types of end goals: goals that contribute to experience, goals that contribute to your personal grown and goals that contribute to others. Here are some of them I'm willing to share:

Firstly: experiences!
  • I want to go to France.
  • I want to marry the person I am with right now.
  • I want to keep doing music-related stuff and reach higher highs.
  • I want to write a book about anything that makes my heart sing.
  • I want to teach people.
  • I want to have a beautiful family that will support me in everything I do.
  • I want to be able to inspire people.
  • I want to learn design.
  • I want to teach in a space where I'm happy and am able to make other people happy.
  • I want to direct a film.
  • I want to run a marathon/finish a triathlon.
Next up: personal growth!
  • I want to read more books and see how other people see the world.
  • I want to learn more languages, i.e. French and Latin.
  • I want to learn more instruments that will make me happy.
  • I want to read books and search the internet to learn about design.
  • I want to go to university to study what I love.
  • I want to make my mind grow out of depression.
  • I want to write a journal every day to see what I think.
  • I want to learn to design beautiful things.
And last, but not least: contribution to others!
  • I want to inspire people to do what they love.
  • I want to show people that literature and language isn't as boring as it might seem.
  • I want to make the person I love happy for the rest of her life.
  • I want to make people happy who make me happy.
  • I want to show my children how to see the world and how to think, not what to think.
  • I want to volunteer more.

Those were my end goals... but that's not all...

I also met my idol on that conference. "Idol" has always been a very strong word in my opinion and I have never really had an idol to actually look up to. Now I do. His name is Alar, he is a trainer and he trains people in teamwork, smiling (really important!) and all sorts of other simple social stuff. He is a great person, I have met him twice as he came to the café I work at. I have never met a kinder and loving person. He is just brilliant.

What are your end goals? Let me know down in the comments below!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kristjan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @jibspark! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84