9 Tropical Storms worldwide all happening at the same time

in #blog6 years ago

As I was busy scrolling down my news feed both on Twitter and Facebook I stumbled upon the image below. Apparently there are currently 9 Tropical Storms happening at the same time worldwide, each of which has the potential to wreak havoc in its path.


xan32wc377.jpg
Visualization by Owen Shieh, h/t Marshall Shepherd
Image Source

The strongest among the nine is Super Typhoon Mangkhut which is unfortunately heading towards my country Philippines. Mangkhut's strength is now equivalent to a Category Level 5 hurricane in the west and is currently the strongest storm this year 2018.


7gm2fhch0g.png
Image Source

Although the storm won't directly hit our place, I am still a little worried about our neighbouring provinces. The last storm of that magnitude to hit the Philippines left our province with no source of electricity for weeks.

Well be safe everyone!

Sort:  

Keep safe everyone, hope the electricity won't get affected since that would be troublesome.

Posted using Partiko Android

Keep safe too! :)

I know! Not to mention that I just subscribed to Dota2 Plus yesterday, it would be such a waste if electricity goes down for weeks. :)

Also Steem. It would definitely make it harder for me to post lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Better save up a lot of power, go buy a lot of power banks just to be sure lol

Try to keep safe everyone, I hope that the typhoon takes another route.

I can't help but think about the great spot on Saturn when I hear about these storms and global warming. It's like we're slowly morphing into venus, with permanent hurricanes on the horizon.

Hope the Philippines weathers this alright and those we know end up alright.

Ohh I almost missed this comment. And I just had a look at the great spot on Saturn, interesting read. I didn't know about that. Thanks! :)

There have been some casualties due to landslides though, but compared to what happened years ago, I guess people now are more prepared.

Hi @jlordc!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.155 which ranks you at #8723 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 8721).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 434 contributions, your post is ranked at #261.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02