Medium.com: Let's Get to know the Popular Blogging Platform Launched in 2012 by ex Twitter CEO

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

No, you misunderstood.
I have no plans leaving steemit.
But I really enjoy exploring & I like to share my thoughts with you.
At the same time I seek, welcome & value your opinion, so as always, feel free to share your thoughts below.

I have a few articles in my mind, and as I research and read about them, articles from medium.com come often in my search results.

I discovered great minds, great articles & thoughts shared at medium so I decided to learn more about it and give it a shot too!

This post contains information about the platform and a simple tutorial about how to create an account.

1_L0zf9ap8xoInVbm78siJBA.png

[source: medium.com]

Part 1. What is Medium.com?

Medium is an online publishing platform developed by Evan Williams, and launched in August 2012. It is owned by A Medium Corporation. The platform is an example of social journalism, having a hybrid collection of amateur and professional people and publications, or exclusive blogs or publishers on Medium, and is regularly regarded as a blog host.
source: Wikipedia

How popular is Medium.com?

You might be interested in some facts and number about medium, so please read here

As per my research, for the time frame February to April 2018, there were 155.2 million Monthly visitors with an average visit duration of 01:55 min.

medium2.jpg

[source screen shot similar web]

I could not find out how many users / authors contribute to the platform.

What should I definitely know about Medium?

There is free or paid membership.

Free membership is really simple. You sign up and you read all you want! Note: For readers that do not sign up, they can read up to 3 stories

Paid Membership for as much as $5 a month. As per medium, this amount is used to support the authors, depending on how much of their articles are read or applauded for.
please read more here

Part 2. How can I sign up?

Apparently you need to connect your google or facebook account (I really hate that part)

I do not understand why I cannot just put a regular email and sign up! Anyways, I will use my facebook and show you the way!

** Update thanks to comment by @andyblack **

You can also sign up using your email (but only if you download their app and use it to sign up


screen shot by my mob.

.1. Visit Medium.com and click on get started

Mediumsign1.jpg

.2. Choose your selected platform

I selected facebook, so I just clicked continue

mediumsign2.jpg

.3. Click on dive in

medium4.jpg

.4. You need to select topics that interest you

(3 or more ) .. does this seem familiar? Twitter Like? ;)

mediumsign4.jpg

.5. Welcome!

This is where all the posts appear. Apparently there are also featured posts and afterwards, the posts matching my previous selections appear

I am a bit confused because the articles in the front page do not seem to be arranged in a chronological order.

However when I click on a subject, the newest postscome first.

mediumsign5.jpg

How does Medium Work?

Once an entry is posted, it can be recommended and shared by other people, in a similar manner to Twitter.[7] Posts can be upvoted in a similar manner to Reddit, and content can be assigned a specific theme, in the same way as Tumblr.
source Wikipedia

How are authors (creators) rewarded?

As per Medium:

In the Partner Program, writers are paid based on how deeply readers engage with their work, not based on clicks. Every month, we distribute each member’s subscription fee in proportion to the authors and stories she read and clapped for that month.

Payments vary based on how much you write and how much members connect with your work.

For someone to start publishing and earning, they need to join the partner programm of medium

mediumsign6.jpg

I will be exploring medium.com some more, so I will post again to let you know of my findings :)

In the meantime, if you can share your experience with me it will be most appreciated!

Also, if you are already Medium Authors, please let me know - I will be glad to follow you there too.

I hope this was interesting for you and I thank you for visiting!


all images screenshots by medium.com unless different noted

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75