It's Time To Get Serious

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

I've taken on two major new projects which are suddenly occupying almost all of my time. Project number one has to remain secret for a while, despite the fact that it is all-consuming, overwhelming, and probably quite expensive. I just can't talk about it.

The second project which is comparatively minor has to run in the background while project number one devours my life. I can talk about project number two, but I figured I should show you some photos while I collect my thoughts...

Sunset in Victoria, BC. Nikon D750, 1/8s f/11.0 ISO100
n9dkb3ospt.jpg
You see that little bit of water over there? That's the Pacific Ocean. I know... it looks way bigger on maps!

So yeah, project two. I am changing my complete computing environment and photography workflow. Cathy's 21" iMac goes up for sale while she upgrades to my 27" iMac. I am moving 100% to Linux which means I'm giving up Lightroom and Photoshop - that's a bold step for a photographer!

I've already built my Linux workstation for a total cost of $240 in hardware which is directly comparable to my 2013 iMac in terms of specs and performance. Probably a little faster actually. For the geeks out there, here are the specs of my new box:


Intel i5 3.3 GHz
8 GB Ram
1 TB hard drive
24" monitor

The Last Surfer Returns, Nikon D750, 1/80s f/9.0 ISO640 85mm
y2azdifqs9.jpg
I'm sensing a sunset theme developing in this post... Above: a little bit more of the Pacific. If you go out past that island, it's open water all the way to Japan.

So about that Linux thing. I've already installed the LAMP stack (Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP) and I've got a Wordpress site up and running. I'm going to have to learn a whole new set of programs for photography. Enough computer talk!


Don't you know where you're standing?
I was on top of Observatory Hill shooting sunset photos when a guy approached me, seeming upset.

"Open your eyes!" he said. "If you had eyes you could see... this is a graveyard!" And with that, he stalked away. I'm not sure what to make of that, just thought I'd pass it along!

Nikon D750, 1/125s f/16.0 ISO320 24mm
6obfn1xqnn.jpg

Please click to view photos full-screen, thank you!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congrats on the Linux! It has been running in my house since... um.... 2000 (?) when it was a mere meetup of geeks in available office space.

You don't need photoshop the way you frame out your shots. ;)

Guido will be over tomorrow to check on project #1. Open up my eyes. I am looking for the graveyard!

Oh, you are such a tease!

Tip!

That's cool that you're into Linux. I installed and ran a network for an engineering company which had large server rooms in three cities - Toronto, Ottawa and LA. I had 80+ servers plus a bunch more in a lab and then all the windows corporate servers and desktop systems for every employee. Did that all myself, three cities... And you may wonder sometimes why my brain is a bit fried...

Oh look, a tip as well :) You're the best, Denise!

Welcome to Linux. I use GIMP for photo-editing, but don't judge the program by my images, I think it can do a lot more than I know how to do. Perhaps it will work for you too.

Thank you! I was using GIMP last night, it's been a long while since I last tried it. I've been involved with Linux at some level since 1993 when I purchased Slackware 2.0 as a set of 50 floppy disks! I remember installing it to dual boot alongside Windows 3.1. I didn't get serious about it until 2001 when I became the network administrator for an engineering company which was almost entirely UNIX based. (HP-UX, Solaris and lots and lots of Redhat Linux boxes running on the user's desktops.) Very few people at the company used Windows for anything, so I had to dive in and learn very quickly.

I had been working as an IT instructor for a small IT school in Toronto and also teaching part-time at DeVry at night. The engineering company figured since I was a Windows NT expert at the time (true) I could quickly learn UNIX.. (less true.) I crammed like crazy before starting the job and on my first day they gave me a computer which dual-booted Windows XP and Red Hat Linux. The very first thing I did at that company was to blow away Windows from my computer and reinstall Linux in a single-boot configuration so I had no choice but to learn. It was total "sink or swim!"

I wanted to mention a couple of other photo programs for Linux: Darktable and Rawtherapee are two powerful programs which handle RAW files and may perhaps do everything I need. I need some time to evaluate.

It's funny - I had forgotten lots of my early experiments with Linux until @dswigle mentioned starting with it in 2000 - so I had to go back and think about my origins... Ahem... 1993 Denise! :)

Wow! That’s a lot of experience. I started with Redhat but for the last many years I’ve used Ubuntu because my wife took to it a little better.

Yes, I'm on Ubuntu 18.04. At work, it was all Red Hat but I find Debian based stuff easier to manage.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87