My first book ever - "The hobbit" (The Lord of the Ring)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I remember when I was in elementary school...I got annoyed by books with no illustrations pretty quickly...


image.png

When I first saw the hobbit book I thought I will never finish it better yet, I'll never start it...I mean look at that size...it is bigger than the dictionary!!! (when you are small everything is bigger)

But I had no choice...it was a school work

The assignment was a chapter everyday if I recall correctly which was a good exercise I must say since the pressure of reading it all at once was certainly diminished/dissected ...

I used to read those chapters like a ride my BMX...not only it was illustrated but mostly it was Tolkien's narrative that glued me to it...

Little did I know I was getting slowly intrigued by the story and I didn't even realize...it all started when the journey began...

I was getting curious chapter after chapter, paragraph after paragraph ... line after the other...
I couldn't wait to know what will happen next but I was preconditioned psychologically to read a chapter at a time and frankly I was content to be able to finish my homework...

What I loved about it is that it stimulated my imagination and now the big fat book looks more like a Disney movie, colorful and dynamic as it can be...

The revisions in class helped a lot because it helped me learn a lot of new words...I was loading on new different words everyday and now I know how reading can help you learn a language...

I was loving it!
By far it was my first favorite book!!
The sleepy dragon, the mountain passage, the ogres..., the giant eagle...Gandalf!! ...just beautiful!!


image.png

This book opened my appetite to reading so much that my teacher noticed the interest I had, I mean I used to have a bunch of questions regarding mainly new words I encountered everyday and somehow she understood my taste that after this book she introduced to me another author that even captivated me even more than the hobbit, "Sandokan..."

Emilio Salgari

image.png

I didn't remember that crazy tache...funny how I used it on so many posts before...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28