Managed to Get My YouTube Account Back

in #blog6 years ago

Just a quick update about my YouTube account termination from last month. I went to my Facebook page for my site that I haven't gone to in a while, and I saw a message form someone telling me about copyright claims on Mark Passio clips I made and uploaded to YT.

This person was the reason I had no more account. UFO HUB had recorded a presentation of Mark's, and he may own the content but UFO HUB owned the video of the presentation. Go figure. Mark Passio has said all his material is free to use and distribute, but I guess not this one in the end since he didn't own the video. So I got 20 copyright infringement claims laid on me and had my account terminated as a result.

After chatting with the guy from UFO HUB, he agreed to remove the copyright claims and allow me to delete the videos.

So I now have my old YouTube account back with my videos and everything. It seems a lots a few subscribers while it was terminated, but I still have over 77,000 views on my content, even after deleting the 20 video clips that had a few hundreds views each.

If you want to go to my YouTube channel, it's here.

YouTube didn't terminate my account for censorship or other reasons. My original work is far too abstract and non-specific to get censored I think.

It wasn't even the clip of the BBC'c black and white version of Orwell's 1984 that did me in, as it was the only thing I could think of before. That video was up with a copyright claim, but allowed to run by the holder. Except I deleted it before understanding it wasn't a violation and could keep it. It had over 8k views on it. Ah well.

The guy from UFO HUB also apparently contacted me on my site in July, but I never got the email. I should keep an eye on my emails from YouTube more carefully, and check my Facebook page more often, even though I don't post to it. Lesson learned.

Good luck to anyone else that loses their YT channel, account, videos and subscribers. It sucks. But if it's a copyright violation, deleting the videos should get you out of trouble.

Peace.

Sort:  

Good news indeed!...:)...

It's been a while since I've uploaded anything to Youtube, but I did run afoul of those copyright laws (with using about a minute or so of music). Which in the macro, is fine. I believe in copyright. It's just kind of annoying when you're repurposing or not even using all of the content (and even attributing). In those cases, you would think the creator would be okay with the use since it might spark more interest. Nope. Some people would prefer no outside help because it doesn't count to their numbers. If I could pay a reasonable fee to use snippets of things, I would, but even those can be outrageous (priced for major producers, not the little guy).

Yeah it's a pain. When peopel try to use your stuff to make money, I can understand. I give my original content for free, but wouldn't want someone using it for money... It's happened before as I caught someone on FB , the Occult University Library assholes took my infographics, removed my site and put their logo, trying to pawn it off as their own work. Douchebags tried to justify it after.

Ah it's always that little stuff that does someone in! I'm glad it has been resolved now though and you have your old videos. That's the biggest pain, when you have all this old content that you spent a lot of time in and boom they disable your channel.

Yeah, it was a pain. Thanks! Lots of content that attracted subscribers over the years, and views. It sucked to see it all gone.

Glad you are out of youtube "jail"; and your advice is sound! I would make sure you have 100% of your videos backed up on a hard drive!

Dtube looks interesting, but I don't have enough experience to recommend it!

Youtube is almost as unreliable as FB these days!

Be Blessed :D

I had the project files to reencode, but having them all in 1080 took up too much space. I can reencode any that I want.

DTube isn't good for evergreen content. After a month or two your content is gone...

They are space hogs for sure! Multi terra byte hard drives are getting reasonable, might be a good way to store them. Too many liberals in control of youtube for me to be comfortable. I notice that they are now limiting bandwidth, unless they are paid extortion, so your videos are just a series of snapshots now.

Sorry to hear that about Dtube! I have just begun looking that direction. I guess videos on Steemit may be the best bet. Have you tried that yet?

:'(

I hate that I hear about this happening more and more. Glad you got the account back, though.

Did Google block your access to everything (email, calendar, documents) or just to the youtube channel?

I still had email. They only killed my youtube access and channel. But it was a pain on my android :/

The amount of power they wield over the tools we use every day is terrifying.

It's like, we give you access to all the intimate details of my daily movements and communications, and you're not going to let me watch a few movies?

Sounds like quite an ordeal. I am glad that you are now up and running. Thanks @krnel for sharing your story

Yup, it was, thanks, happy it's all resolved now :)

It seems I'm already subscribed. :-)

Hehe, sweet ;)

Glad to hear @krnel! Looks like a lot of us just jumped to conclusions with the whole censorship idea lol. :)

Yeah, it's the default position when someone get's taken down lol

I'm so glad you have it back and you didn't lose all your content. I'm going over there not to subscribe.

Thanks. Hehe, make sure you do't subscribe :P

Have you backed up your videos to dtube? YouTube is going to keep sliding down the slippery slope.

I can reencode my old videos, some are 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 hours long so they take up space for nothing. DTube isn't that great for evergreen content, as your videos are gone after a while. So only useful to make money in the short term, not for long term storage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30