Quality content, Crap content or No content at all

in #blog5 years ago

The image below is the most interesting thing I could think of posting today. Because I found it funny and I could use a captivating book… not that particular one, but anyway, something to take my mind off uncertainties and the blood on the markets.

shades.jpg

I hesitated posting it, because … what would people say?! Does it qualify as quality? Definitely, no.
On the other hand, we are all talking about creating a buzz around Steemit and onboarding people, now more than ever. How do you approach somebody?
‘Listen, buddy, there’s this cool platform where you can make a little money by posting, but you must be very careful and only post quality content’. As much as we hate spammers and plagiarism, presenting Steemit as this intellectuals-only high-brow site is a bit counter-productive, to say the least.
We don’t know what Ned has in mind with Destiny, but I’ve heard him talking about a killer dApp. Something good enough to beat Instagram. At this point, I’m not even going to check how many users Instagram has, as for the active users on this platform …
Remember a few months back when we passed 1 million accounts? Everybody was happy and we’d like to see millions of users more. The problem is where are we going to find millions of people who can easily write quality stuff on a daily basis or are willing to spend hours writing a decent post that gets a few cents. Many of us have been in that position and it takes either skills or a lot of will. The typical social media user has neither. For those few bloody cents most give up and return to liking cute cats on Facebook.
Even established users get that burnout feeling at some point. I do have some ideas that I find interesting, but I’m pretty certain few people would. Honestly, would you read about my country having a national holiday tomorrow and my views on the idea of independence? What choice do I have? Post nothing because nobody cares anyway? Or post something just because it’s funny?

Oddly enough, onboarding new users would give us all new readers! People who haven’t read our previous rants on politics, education, liberals or whatever.

Thanks for reading

rebeccanew.png

Sort:  

This is one issue i think we should work to address. We come off as elitist when we tell invitees that they have to post quality contents at all times. What's a social network without a wide range of contents (good, bad, cringy, etc) anyways?

Given the token economics at the moment, steem is inflationary and by default would lose a bit of value every now and then. Coupled with the plummeted price value, making it seem like an exclusive community for and intellectuals when existing users still earn nuts on well-crafted articles is not encouraging, not even to full-blown plagiarist, talk less of an intellectual who places value on his time.

Let's be reasonable on here and allow people to breathe. No one's ever been attacked publicly on Facebook for posting images of someone else's cat. I'd pick any content on here over having no content at all.

As the least elitist amongst us, I concur.

Lovely username for such a topic.
Followed!

LOL - very true, when everything is totally buggered - have a laugh!

Nah, I can't usually stop myself from saying something nasty!

Well that was quite amusing so I think I'd go with the post something because it's funny option.

Thanks for appreciating my sense of humor! :)

I think it's important for people to feel they can post whatever they like however I am a supporter of diversity meaning if a user posts the same thing over and over then I tend to tune out. I love cats but am certainly not going to continue following someone who posts a cat picture 5 times a day with nothing else, no words and no effort.

You're right though, if it's going to open up and appeal to the masses then we have to expect the sort of shit posted on Instagram and Facebook. It seems the world loves garbage.

My oldest brother (not on Steemit) sent me a video on WhatsApp today. It was stupid but he found it hilarious. It kind of was. But he's a 51 year old dude who owns multiple businesses and and is a fairly serious guy. He loved the video so much that he sent it to me though. I chuckled and moved on, no more than that. My point being that some people love stupid shit and some don't but all are entitled to their opinion.

For the record, I'm interested in the national holiday you have...😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Actually I have a very low tolerance for the garbage on social media and I've unfollowed many people I do know in real life because I couldn't stand seeing crap. I am one of those people who likes to read other posts and I probably couldn't stand having crap on my feed... but it is a real problem. People used to traditional social media aren't used to making an effort, it's all like, share and smileys.. and duck-faces.
Or maybe I'm just too pissed at the moment... maybe there are still people wanting to engage in real conversations out there?

I hear you. I got rid of Facebook because I wound it so negative and dumb. Made me dumber every time I opened it up. Instagram is the same. Duckface women promoting an energy drink in a bikini thinking they are a celebrity... I just tune out.

I think there *are * people our there who want genuine engagement, just more who want the superficial. It's here on Steemit also...Still, if the platform is going to grow then is it actuslly needed?

Posted using Partiko Android

Destiny will be focused not on content (too expensive to carry) but on payments and ICOs (needs SMTs first). The content part is left to the dApps. Busy, Steempeak and co for the blogging part, Appics for the Instagram-like, etc.

The problem is where are we going to find millions of people who can easily write quality stuff on a daily basis or are willing to spend hours writing a decent post that gets a few cents. Many of us have been in that position and it takes either skills or a lot of will.

You've just had your whales flag off- a nice chunk of these type of accounts.

These people will Never Return & Will Spread The Word about what Happened on Steemit. In addition, most of the dedicated writers, have gone on or will go on to create their own websites- taking with them the followers they gained on Steemit. I am not referring to myself. But, I do know of a few pother accounts that have their new OWN sites up & running & their fan base of readers has followed them.

In addition I have seen Dedicated Steemit Users who do not POST much on their own, buyt have been avid users of steem- reading other authors posts & interacting in the comments section. These people too have been targeted & driven off the Steemit Platform by your Psychopaths in their Fag Wars for for $$$. This system will not survive if flagging is allowed to be used as a way for a select few to make $$$$$$.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85