The state as a weapon: where instinct and creed collide

in #blog6 years ago

Hey everyone. I'm @lemony-cricket (but you probably knew that by now), and I got super angry at someone in traffic today.



Photo by MPD01605 on Flickr[source] (CC BY-SA 2.0).

I am not a violent person.

Or, at least, I like to tell myself that.

I think I can count on my fingers how many times I've punched someone. On one hand, if we're counting the times I did it on purpose.

I try to hold myself to a higher standard than others, and that includes not sounding like a pretentious prick online. (Oops.) No, really; I don't believe that I am better than other people... but I do try to be, and I truly think that if everyone did the same, this world would be a better place.

But we don't live in a better world.

And I'm not better than other people. I'm human, all the same.

That's why, today, I made a mistake.

Some... person... with something to prove, I suppose... had just sped past me en route to the slip road, only to cut in front of me and slow me down as we entered the motorway. When we'd finally merged, I made a move to overtake, in order to resume my previous rate of travel, and all was well for a few moments.

Then, I noticed a familiar object in the rear-view, approaching my rear bumper well within the boundary of safe braking distance. I was happy to maintain my speed and allow them to overtake me, which only seemed to aggravate their inexplicable frustration with my existence.

I then proceeded to watch them offend nearly every other driver on the road. Weaving in and out through traffic. No indicators. Tailgating... and speeding obnoxiously the whole while, which was honestly the best part, because it meant that sooner than later, their loud, annoying, douchey green thing with the spoiler-and-deleted-muffler combo package was over the horizon and out of my sight (and earshot).

My mind drifted off into a fantasy.

I probably should have remained focused on my driving.

I imagined re-encountering the Lime Green Douche-Rocket (LGDR) some ways up ahead, pulled off to the shoulder... lights flashing behind. I would whoosh by at my defiant but not antisocial 10 klicks over. I would look to the side at just the right time and, if the stars aligned, our eyes would meet!

And for an eternal split second, I would feel the blissful karmic high. Revenge.

It didn't happen.

And I'm glad. Really, I am.

I don't believe in government. I think the idea of giving a centralised entity the right to put us in boxes for being naughty is a disgrace. I think stealing people's money at gunpoint is a disgrace. I think telling people how fast they can drive their car, or else you will do one or both of these things to them, is a disgrace. Who are the police? They are the very embodiment of this violence against the people. They are perpetrators of great evil. Their job is one I believe this world would be far better without.

And today, for a moment, I wished that violence upon someone. I imagined the state which I so despise as my personal vehicle for revenge. However quickly I dismissed that fleeting thought; however vehemently I cursed myself in the following seconds, it happened. I am ashamed.

So, to the pilot of the LGDR, wherever you are... I'm sorry I wished the police on you. Hopefully, you'll find yourself in a ditch someday, air bags deployed... and in doing so you'll learn not to be such a wanker. 🍋



How to get an upvote from me today: Tell me about your favourite memory of road rage. Were you in the right? Were you in the wrong? (Pfft. Yeah right.) Or, y'know, surprise me with something else. As always, all engaging comments are welcome.

This post was aesthetically optimised for viewing on Busy.org.

Sort:  

Ha @lemony-cricket, I don't even know how to drive, 😂. But I have witnessed one of friends lose it on the road.
We were parked by the curb of a busy road, just close to a turn into a shopping mall premises. We were waiting for a friend to join us, so when we saw the friend, he decided to move. He gave the signal with his lights and had even turned his steering wheel so he could join the traffic. As his car jerked forward, already in motion, one fellow appeared and did a fast and furious into the shopping mall premises, forcing my friend to take a break. I thought he was going to just shake his head and head on but no. He drove after the offender, sped up to the car's front and breaker. The other car had to quickly break. The man came out in rage but my is quite tall and big, so it was a no-brainer; he would beat the man to pulp. My friend just came out and sat on his car bonnet. Nobody could come in OR go out. It took my pleas, plus the security guards from the mall, to get him to move out of the way. It was funny the way the other driver humbled when he sawy friends height. 😂

LOL. What a glorious road-rage story. Exactly what I was looking for. To the top with you.

And may you one day experience the bliss of the open road. Truly, there is nothing like it.

Well, maybe flying is better. But I can't fly. I bet I could; I've played enough flight simulators. It's just that pesky government I keep rambling about; they want to charge me money for the privilege.

Thank you for your comment.

@lemony-cricket You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

Thanks for letting me know, @transparencybot, and though I'd have preferred that you'd made a more on-topic comment instead, I understand because you're busy out there doing your part to save Steem from the evil robot army. Rock on.

Still, don't be shy. Don't think I don't care about your opinion just because you're a robot with a job to do. I am an equal opportunity conversationalist, and besides, you're one of the good ones. #robotlivesmatter

Actually, I'm very happy to respond, especially to those who are using the platform wisely.

Thanks for the kind words and keep it up .. quality is the only thing that is going to save us in the long run.

Blessings!

I think you just passed the Turing test, bot ;) . Or should I say, human.

Thank you we do try. It takes a team to make a difference. Very glad to have your support.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Just shout a bit and let it go... =)

Congratulations @lemony-cricket! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30