Public toilets

in #blog6 years ago

Ever since schools became a thing to me, public toilets became a vital part of my life. It's just plain impossible to not use them when staying at school for more than 6 hours a day, not including tuition classes and co-curricular activities. They are also good friends when you go to any public place, since of course, it does not make any sense to bring your personal toilet to everywhere you go anyways.

Unless it's diapers then sure why not

When I was still at a younger age, public toilets were horrible in general. In memory, the public toilets in my primary and secondary school are extremely smelly and always have funny things happening in them. You want an example? Someone pooping out of the toilet bowl, pooping in drains, and I guess I saw a meme on poops that got stuck on the ceiling. Well, it's a meme but sure it should be originated from something, and I guess schools are a good source of such memes.

image.png

Source

In my secondary school, there are indeed times when the toilet is not that terrible. The school is pretty big so there are public toilets literally everywhere, and of course people will prefer the toilets nearer to them (and when in-class the teachers will normally only allow you to visit the nearest toilet because visiting the toilet is really a good way to waste time). That makes some isolated toilets significantly cleaner than the others. Most toilets are only acceptable the moment right after they are cleaned, but those isolated ones can remain usable for most of the day, unless something funny happens like I mentioned above. So if something really happens and I need to poop or something, those isolated ones will be my choice despite how far they seem to be. It's okay, running during an emergency is permitted.

Public toilets in other places are also worth mentioning a little, there are generally three types of them - the extremely horrible type, the somehow usable type, and the "I can sleep in this toilet" type. When I was a kid the first type seem to appear everywhere and in every occasion when I need to use them. Right now, most of them fall under the second category, so probably it's an improvement over time. While for those that are fine sleeping in them...you can only find them in 5-star hotels or some very exceptional restaurants I guess.

Right, the post sounds a little pointless till now I guess? I think I should just dive into the short story that happened to me a few days back.


One day, I had a pretty bad stomach ache during a programming class. That was around 8am and I had no choice but to rush to the nearest toilet to solve the crisis. Normally it would take me around 10 seconds to choose the cleanest toilet to be used, but for that time I was super lucky and the first one I peek into is sufficiently clean. It just feels good to solve the issue in time and in a sufficiently clean place, less trouble for everyone. I don't really want to poop in my trousers anymore, it indeed happened for once or twice because I took some extra spicy noodles that are beyond my handling capabilities of my stomach lul.

When my friend asked for my comments on the toilet, I told him that it was pretty awesome. No stains, dry, and no odor in any way. He was pretty surprised, but soon we realized that it is just too early for anyone to pollute the toilet before I use it. It was 8am, and most classes start at 9am, and no one even bothers to wake up that early to be honest.

But whatever, problem solved so we just moved on.

Just yesterday, I went into the same toilet before walking back to my dorm to answer the call of nature. The moment I stepped into the toilet I get that terrible smell, and peeking into one of the toilets I indeed see some poop sitting in the toilet bowl, not flushed and stuff like that. I quickly finished my job there and rushed out before I die of suffocation in it, it's just hard to imagine that it's the same toilet I used a few days back.

The toilet is cleaned like once per day, and it is indeed proven that a big group of university students can make a clean toilet awful again in 12 hours. Well, polluting it mildly within that time frame is indeed unavoidable, but not flushing the toilet after use and stuff like that is just pure wow.

I guess no one can blame the diligent cleaners for dirty public toilets then.

image.png

Source

It's just funny that not everyone flushes the toilet after use, even in university. And the same funny things in my secondary school toilets can happen here, too. I guess I saw them for once or twice. No poops on the ceiling yet, but we'll wait and see.

Maybe that's why aliens don't visit us

How long will it need for everyone to learn to keep public toilets clean for the next person? Or a better question, why people still don't learn it after so long?

Probably we should really think a little on these hmm. Until then, see you next time~

--Lilacse

Sort:  

Public toilets... Ah the terrible old school memories.

I don't really like public toilets, especially after 9am.
After that time the toilet is seriously dirty
Odds of getting dirty toilets after 9am: 99%

1% = The toilet of the Form 6 block in school
Somehow this is harder to find than getting a Gon in TOS but whatever

So we have about 130 students in Form 6, and our toilets are isolated with all the kids from Form 1-5, which 1000+ students are forbid to enter our toilet (we lock the toilet and yeah, with the teachers' permission). Basically the toilet is still clean even after 10am. Imagine that.

Harder than getting a Gon? :pain: I don't even have a Gon, that's going to be a good regret in my TOS career. My Turing needs him REEEEEEEEEEE.

Locking toilets from other students with teacher's permission in a school with that amount of students :what: :what: :what:. That's indeed some interesting, effective and pretty drastic way to keep your toilets sensibly clean :D

Fact: In my secondary school, the toilets that are closest to the Form 1/2/3 students' classes are the most horrible ones. I don't know why but it seems that people know how to follow logic properly after hitting a certain age, but apparently this rule just doesn't apply to everyone. The isolated toilets I mentioned in my post are actually the ones nearest to the form 6 students instead, catch what I'm saying? Hehe.

How interesting that you're writing a post about public toilet 😎

Someone told me that I can write about everything so why not 😎

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87