Hobbit Holes, Kind Words, And Trying To Keep My Head Up

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

I know many don’t really know me here... but something I say often is that I just want to find my hobbit hole by a stream to live in. That’s the dream.

I mean it’s a joke, kind of.. but I’m very much the person that could just leave civilization and material things behind and just go live in a hobbit hole somewhere.. and I’d be happy as a little clam. Maybe it is the introvert in me. 🤷🏻‍♀️

In fact, being at steemfest.. meeting Gandalf and exploring middle earth with him and some awesome Steemians was about as close and it as I have been haha.

Anywho, apparently someone actually paid attention to my little joke (or I say it waaay more often then I thought) because I got a little gift in the mail...

928EF548-EFB7-42EC-ACB9-56FCB116302D.jpeg

My very own hobbit hole!!!

It’s even got a turquoise door and sweet little flowers!!

That’s right, our very own @steemmatt sent me a hobbit hole to call my very own.. as well as a note full of kind words and encouragement that nearly made me cry (and I’m not a crier).

It was an extremely kind and thoughtful gesture and I felt a post was in order to thank him ❤️ Seriously Matt, I love it.. it was super kind of you 🤗 Thank you so much!

Now everyone go give Matt a nice upvote for not being a dick, and instead being an extremely kind individual.. it’s a rare trait these days. Don’t worry, I’ll wait 🙂



Keep your head up

and “don’t let the bastards grind you down”

Over the last week or so, things have been a bit messy for me here on Steem.. I won’t go into details as there is enough drama happening elsewhere and it’s not the point of this post.. but I’ll just say, a lot has been said about me.. some fair, some not so much.. and while I’m not complaining as I knew what I was getting into when I made the decisions I did, it can start to weigh on a person.

I don’t regret the decisions I’ve made, as I feel that sometimes you have to stand up for what’s right or what you believe in, no matter the cost.

While I spent most of the week ignoring it all and just trying to continue the work I do here, knowing that there really was no harm in flags (even was writing a great post about how great Steem is as flags aren’t censorship)... waking up yesterday to realize that every one of my comments now ruined the post I commented on (I have some auto spam following my comments now) made me rage...

Flagging me is fine, it only effects me.. even if the bot net that took away the ability for anyone to counter the flags was annoying, it only effected me and my comments.. so fair game.

But turning anything I comment on into a shit show? That affects the platform, the community and the blog that I was commenting on (while curating) to encourage the author.. and apparently that was my line.. as I went out of character and decided fuck it, since I can’t comment on good stuff now.. I’ll just troll you bastards. 😬

It felt very much that since I was ignoring the flags and continuing on, that the attack was doubled down on to affect something that I clearly would not be ok with.. and they got what they wanted.. as I haven’t commented on any posts I’ve curated since..

I didn’t want to ruin anymore blogs.

Hell, I didn’t want to comment anywhere.. as I knew spam would take over... and then @steemmatt set me straight again.. yep.. same guy who gave me a hobbit hole.. told me to keep being me, like I had always done.. and the rest is just what it is.

Well between that, kind words from @blewitt in DM as I didn’t want to respond on his post either.. as well as kind and encouraging words from many people.. including the GP crew, and the sane discord chat and a nice kick in the ass reminder from my fake discord hubs, I realized I had lost myself a bit.. and needed to go back to ignoring.. no matter how hard that is.

I realized I just needed to keep being me and take whatever this insanity is head on, while trying to do the most good and not become someone I won’t recognize.. no matter how much I would really like to make more comments telling people to go fuck themselves.. because some people are just.. well, yeah. But hey, it’s just a waste of time and energy...

So, my head is back up and I’ll be going back to what I do around here.. you know, the stuff most don’t even know about.. which is exactly how I like it.

I just wanted to say thanks for those that have always supported and encouraged me, while seeing who I am and what I stand for.. as sometimes when there is so much out there, it’s hard to see through all the garbage.

While I will be commenting on posts of people I know, It might take me a bit to feel I can comment freely on other authors posts (without bringing unneeded spam and drama), so I am asking a favor..

I ask all of you to take a bit more time to comment and engage with authors who may need an extra lift. To help encourage them as you do me. I would really appreciate it.



I’ll be hanging in my hobbit hole and I’m here if you need me...

57A70C89-EC7F-468F-9DE9-1D37407EDB6D.jpeg

Much Love,

Justine

Sort:  

This place has its overhills and underhills - don't let it get to you and just relax and have some fun with it all. At some point, all this nonsense will be irrelevant and instead we can spend time doing something important.

I’m with you, I just am one that can’t ignore certain things.. even if I wish I could, and due to that sometimes things get meh. I’ll power through it though and as long and I don’t let it effect the long term goal, I think I’m golden.

At some point we will all be moon-ing and no one will have anything to fight about right?! 😜

The mooning phase is when the real entitlement claims begin...

"Why does he earned when I...."

yay.

:*

Tarazkp is right. At some point this will all be a thing of the past and you a d the rest of us will be onto so many brighter things. I’m sure of that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Matt is freaking awesome and I'm pretty sure he doesn't even know it himself.

Presents and notes by mail are worth GOLD.

Take care Justine, it sucks to feel like you destroy something beautiful even though that's not your fault. It will pass <3

Yeah, I really don’t think he gets it haha.

Yes!!! Mail is the best thing ever!!

Thanks love 💕

I like how you two think. Speaking of gold, if you open the front door, I put some inside to cover the cost of getting the fanciest llama ever.

I actually checked to see if I somehow missed that the door opened 😛

Fancy llama is gonna happen! She’ll probably get her own blog and be a better blogger than me.. it will be brilliant!

So speaking of missing doors... Don't know why, but that gif just said "Justine" to me. Haha

The jaws one?!? Lol.. is it because it’s tagging me and following me around? 😜

The gif in my post. Touché!

Btw, I sea that it's el fin for Jaws thanks to George.

matt is awesome and i just oggled at the weird stuff he found that looked like they might be some master dwarf's metal crafting set for straight 10 minutes out of inner child excitement and probably also out of not having enough sleep but already at work at 7 AM in the morning.

and, you are also awesome :) you are committed, kind, level-headed, you have good values, an ability to stop and introspect, courage to stand up for your principles, you bake delicious and magical things, and you mentor others, and you prop the ones who were down in the dumps, and you are funny and your take gorgeous photos, and you have such eye for quality contents, and you understand what makes a place works (the people, and the communities) and you are beautiful, and tenacious, and really, really, really awesome.

Right!?! I was trying to figure out what the heck that was and I think you are right, has to be a dwarf’s metal crafting set.. nothing else makes sense.

Awe, thank you.. that’s incredible kind and you are such a special person... always so kind and uplifting, I really appreciate it and don’t have the words currently to tell you just how kick ass you are.. you are that amazing.

Thanks for being you ❤️

It is unfortunate that they put you on their hit list with their flags and spams. You didn’t do anything wrong and that’s why you should not let it change you, as it certainly doesn’t change our friendship, except it makes me respect you even more for having the courage and care to speak your minds when you want to right what’s wrong.

And that is a beautiful gift, I will check on this wonderful person’s blog now . Have a good day lele and sleep on your hobbit hole when you are tired ^_^.

You’re a sweetheart, thank you ❤️

I think sometimes there is backlash for the decisions we make, and I’m ok with that.. but I also think things can get out of hand and it’s time to say enough is enough. I’m still here, and they can’t stop me from doing what I do.. spam or no spam.. plus I don’t get silenced easily 😉

Love ya girlie! ❤️

Also, how did I not think about putting the hobbit hole in my bed!?!

Truly, just keep using the platform as you normally would. If someone is using a botnet to flag and comment spam behind you, let them. Eventually the vp will run out or they'll get bored and move on. 🤷‍♀️

Honestly, I wonder if any of the people involved think about how permanent all this is on the blockchain? How might these petty actions appear to others in the future? 🤔

Also, that hobbit hole is freaking perfection. 💗

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s a good point, and I was going on as normal for over a week.. I’m trying to get back to that mindset.. the spam is just a bit ridiculous. But some people are ridiculous 🤷🏻‍♀️

I always wonder that too.. I mean the blockchain is forever and it makes me think people don’t even consider that.. or maybe that’s why they hide behind alt accounts. Like, is this really what you want attached to your name for eternity? 😬

It’s a good test for the system though, as one account has made 17k comments in 24hrs that are all just the same spammy thing.. so maybe some updates will come out of this that will be helpful to all.

Thanks for your comment! ❤️

Hobbits are cool.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hobbits really are the best.. and they really have that food thing down 🙂

I love this post, and I'll go look up @steemmatt to say HI, but
I've been noticing something (I'm not sure I understand a
Lot of your content here, bots down voting?) I see a LOT
Of my comments being voted on (I thought upvoted)
By Bots(@fulltimebot56, 64, 65, 68 etc etc) and I
Don't know what those are or where they come
From. Are those what you're talking about
@llfarms? Just trying to understand.
Love the hobbit hole.

Yay!! I love your photo here!! 👀❤️ Thanks so much for saying hello to Matt, he’s a good one and is killer on the drums!

Your comments are probably upvoted by them yes, the bots were used for curation at some point and I do believe they are still upvoting the comments of a select group of individuals. I haven’t looked lately but I did see some a few days ago. That’s good! That just means someone has noticed you add value or they liked what you do and wanted to support you.

Mine are a bit different and sort of have a story behind it all that isn’t worth telling. We have the ability to use upvotes and down votes here.. upvotes show agreement or support and downvotes show the opposite.. and some people use them for more personal disputes and to show distaste for a person. I’m getting the downvotes right now, but it’s not too big of a deal and I did make a stand against something to get them.. so they could be warranted.

You have done nothing and don’t need to worry about downvotes, just do your thing and make Steem wonderful by contributing like you do. Have a good one ❤️

Thanks for the explanation @llfarms, I hope you get your detractors
Dealt with accordingly. I'm trying desperately to remain upbeat
And positive, though my health issues and PTSD and
Depression are all working hard in the
Opposite direction for me.
You stay cool my friend.
image.png

Being yourself is the best answer to give to those who don’t like you. Good choice!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahah yes that should give you a boost :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah! Go for it! :))

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @llfarms!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.075 which ranks you at #297 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 298).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 354 contributions, your post is ranked at #6.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43