How To Make Your Own Beauty Products - Part Two | 6 MORE Step By Step Tutorials

in #blog6 years ago (edited)



I believe that making your own products is an important step towards self reliance. It is also a great way to be able to control the ingredients that go into those products, as well as customize to your own personal preferences.


I’m not a fan of artificial fragrances, preservatives or chemicals that come with warning labels; so for me, being able to make my own using only natural and organic ingredients is a must.


Over the last few years I have been formulating these recipes and have been sharing them with you all here over the last few months, hoping to encourage others to make their own products as well. I wanted to have them all in one location to make finding the recipes a bit easier. We all know how hard it is to search through someone’s blog...Here is Part One. I will be adding more product tutorials in the future so stay tuned!


DFFD2518-877E-409B-AD8E-3D5A90322950.jpeg




lance-1 divider odrau steem

6 MORE Beauty Product Tutorials With Step By Step Instructions



lance-1 divider odrau steem



Herbal Body Butter


If you have been following my blog for awhile, you’ll know I’m a big fan of adding beneficial herbs into my recipes whenever I can. This nourishing body butter is no exception; it contains Chamomile, Calendula, Lavender, Lemon Balm and Marshmallow Root to soothe skin while it moisturizes. It’s gentle enough for all skin types, making it great for the whole family. It’s rich without being greasy and has a lovely light scent. This is my go to product for gift giving and is always is a crowd pleaser.


Body Butter is essentially a very rich and thick lotion. The big difference is that with lotion, you are adding water and emulsifying that with an oil. Adding water to the mix means it has a very short shelf life or needs a preservative added. I do not like using preservatives and therefore prefer this Body Butter recipe.


You Can Find The Full Tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Detox Bath Salts


Mineral rich clays, salts and healing herbs have been used for centuries to help rid the body of toxins. There are many ways to help your body complete this natural process, but one of the easiest (and most relaxing) ways is to take a nice hot detox bath. This recipe is very easy to make and can be customized with any herbs you have on hand. Water is vital for our bodies to be able to rid itself of these toxins, so make sure you are drinking plenty of it before and during your bath!


Epsom Salt (Magnesium Sulfate)- is known to remove toxins while soothing sore muscles, aches and pains, all while providing a source of magnesium that most individuals are deficient in.


Ancient Sea Salt - has a supremely rich mineral composition of magnesium, potassium, sodium, calcium, bromide, sulfur, zinc and many others which are absorb into the body while soaking. It has been known to relieve skin conditions, alleviate arthritis, soften skin, heal wounds, and replenish much needed minerals while removing impurities.


Kanolin, French Green or Bentonite Clay - These clays have the ability to pull toxins from skin while softening, removing dead skin cells, and soothing sensitive skin.


Baking Soda - has the ability to help neutralize ph levels in your tap water while assisting your body to absorb the minerals present in the clay and salts you will be adding to the bath.


You Can Find The Full Tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Homemade Fragrance Spray


This recipe can be used to make your own perfume, cologne, or line spray and is completely customizable depending on the scents you like. By using organic essential oils it is also good for your health and can help to improve your mood through it’s aromatherapy qualities. It’s extremely easy to make and you’ll never have to buy another toxic fragrance spray again.


This recipe gives you the steps to make your base as well as giving you specific measurements for different scents of perfume, cologne, linen spray and a helpful disinfectant spray as well. My personal favorite is Lavender, Sweet Orange and Vanilla.


You Can Find The Full Tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Making Your Own Citrus Essential Oil


Well now that you know how to make your own fragrance spray, why not make the essential oils that go in it? This is a great way to make an ingredient, rather than buy it, from citrus peels that would normally be thrown into the trash... it doesn’t get much better than that. I use it not only in my perfume and linen spray but also in homemade cleaners, and wood conditioners... it’s a great multi purpose product.


Essential Oils have amazing benefits and also produce a wonderful scent allowing you to add a nice fragrance to items without using harmful chemicals. With that being said, high quality essential oils are not cheap, and sometimes when using them for fragrance only purposes…it felt a bit excessive. So recently while staring at a large pile of grapefruit peels our family had consumed…I had an idea, why not make our own?


You Can Find The Full Tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Herbal Bug Repellent Bar


Finding a natural bug repellent that actually works is just difficult, not to mention they are pretty expensive. I always found myself having to reapply it constantly and I still would fall victim of those little mosquitos. So after some research, I came up with the idea of combining herbs and essential oils that have natural bug repellent properties with beeswax and Shea butter to actually form a barrier on the skin, giving you hours of relief. It’s extremely effective and actually moisturizes as it protects as well, it’s one of my favorite products.


Have you ever been out on a walk and noticed that some plants are completely covered with bugs while others don’t have a single one near them? Well, that is because some plants have natural bug repelling properties, pretty amazing right? Some of these plants are Lavender, Basil, Lemongrass, Catnip, Lemon Thyme, Mint, Rosemary, Cloves, and Citronella. While all of these herbs may smell absolutely amazing to us, some insects can’t stand it. These herbs mainly repel mosquitoes, fleas, flies, gnats, and moths. While causing no harm to any insect and not repelling those beneficial pollinators either.


You Can Find The Full Tutorial Here


lance-1 divider odrau steem


Herbal Diaper Ointment


Combining the best of the Herbal world with the natural healing properties of clay and adding in some nourishing oils makes for the perfect combination in this recipe. It has solved every issues it’s ever come across while being gentle and moisturizing.


We all want what is best for our children, and sometimes that means throwing away the toxic chemically ridden products from the store and finding something better.


lance-1 divider odrau steem


I hope you will find these recipes beneficial and that they will help encourage you to try making them yourself.


Also, be sure to check out Part One

D0D59699-EBA1-4435-B1E9-163592A7BAE3.jpeg



Bookmark, save and share with your friends!


Thank you so much for reading,


70F2CD27-358A-422B-A82D-3AF6A9D0F7D2.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @digitaldan to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. Come join us on discord! https://steemit.com/ghsc/@ghscollective/today-s-promoted-post-llfarms

Thanks so much guys!!

Fantastic set of tutorials! I also am an advocate of all things natural and self reliance. Skin care is an area that often gets overlooked and yet it is our biggest organ why would we not want to protect it by controlling what goes on our bodies? This is worth a resteem

Thank you so much! I couldn’t agree more, even in my own journey to more natural eating etc... skin care wasn’t the first thing that popped into my head. Then one day I realized I was concentrating on only consuming the best of things, but was still putting chemical leaden products all over my body. It was a big wake up call!

Look how far you've come! And isn't it rewarding making all your own goodies plus being able to help/teach others?!

I have ever stumbled upon lavender to collect this year but I adore the smell. And the repelland I must try because I had a few unpleasant bites last weekend hike. Ahhh all must smell so good.

Oh yes, you need to get some lavender! It doesn’t grow wild here either but I have started cultivating it myself... not too much luck yet, but it’s one of my favorite herbs so I will keep trying.

The mint family is also a great repellent and might take the place of the lavender, and it grows more abundantly.

Bites are no fun, I hope you can make this soon

Thanks for your consistent support and encouragement Priscilla, it means a lot. ❤️❤️❤️

Oh my, no big deal, I simply love your posts. I am kind of quiet and bound to Nature. I try not to miss its blessings and the gifts of its unending beauty. I guess it is a kind of philosophy. So I love your feed. As simple as that and I am happy to stumble upon it. Chicks photos are extra rewards, that includes birdies nests ;)
I got some lavender sackets from a friend in Australia last year so I was wanting to renew them, last year I found a field but this year theyhave been scarce, no poppies, no lavender...

This is such a wonderful collection of healthy and beautiful products. I just everything about this. I am going to try your herbal bug repellent bar soon! ♥

Thank you! I actually got the idea from the post you did with all your beautiful recipes. I thought is was a wonderful way to put them all in one place so they are easy to find, thanks for that 😉

Let me know how you like it! It’s been a really life saver for us personally.

Thank you! 🤗

@elfranz: with this tutorials can I be pretty too?
@llfarms: yeah, pretty much...

Ok, I'll show myself out

@elfranz this just made me giggle entirely too hard, thanks for that.

You are already pretty!

Wow! again amazing round up of posts, resteemed!

Thank you Dan! I’m so glad you enjoyed them, and thank you for the resteem 🤗

I like your recipe for Detox bath salt, it is always horrible to sea the dry skin after exposure of skin to bath lotions, I have to use a lot of moisturising creams. Knowing that you use natural herbal products already mentally brings peace to your mind.

I was even thinking to print your recipes and make a folder with your useful, healthy tips. Thanks for sharing :)

So much of a better option then using all those store bought products laced with heavy metals and chemicals.

Oh how wonderful, so glad i found you on here. I've bookmarked your page and am looking forward to trying out that bodybutter recipe. My skin is so sensitive to artificial fragrances etc, this sounds perfect. Thank you!! E x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79