I don't often reminisce and get nostalgic...

in #blog5 years ago

I remember the feeling when I returned that day..
It had been a few years - a decade nearly, and the place still looked the same.
But didn't, somehow.

scaled map - Copy - Copy - Copy.jpg

As I drove through the small village, I realized what it was. The people, and the shops.

The shops had closed, and the people were...not there.

When I'd last driven through the village - all those years ago, it was a place that I knew well. It was place that was busy with people going around, doing their business, living their lives.
There was a sense of energy.
Of life.

Bit now that had gone. I stopped the car, and just looked around. The energy was absent, along with the people.
It felt depressing, remembering it as I did from before..

The last time I was there, you couldn't go into shop without talking to someone there, and if not there, then on the street somewhere along the way.

As I sat there soaking in the new atmosphere, it felt like I could be sat there for the whole day without even encountering old friends that I would meet daily.

It wasn't the village that I remembered from those times long gone, where you never had the time to converse with everyone that had something to say...

And I have same emotion logging onto Steemit, right now.

Remember those days when you never had time to keep track of the followers you had, when post after post slipped by..., the activity of exchange in posts, all the ....energy.

It is not that place anymore.

Nostalgia over. fuck it....

scaled map - Copy - Copy - Copy.jpg

Sort:  

I joined about that same time you did. While I still enjoy logging in, some of the "good vibes" have gone for me too. I'm optimistic they'll return someday! ;)

...amazing that after so long, I still confuse your icon,...lol

I'm not offended. Wouldn't do any good at this point. ;)

Just find the nearest pub! They are all in there!

Posted using Partiko iOS

you can't go home....when you leave it does too.

It seems an accurate description of my surroundings. In Venezuela the crisis caused this, the most populated and active places in the past, now seem to have no soul. In Steemit too.

In both cases the activity was driven by money. If the money goes away, nothing remains.

I'm pretty sure that in Europe and the United States it's the same, only that the money is not over yet.

It's not just money, is a sense of direction.
Of purpose.

I joined june/july 2017 - the prices weren't high - but the sense of 'new', of growing and enthusiasm, was their...

...lack of growth, leads to lack of impetus....and then it's a matter of time if things don't change..

...life is growth and death , I suppose. ( I just sensed that steemit had the potential for a longer life ...)

In my opinion, the lack of direction or purpose is because precisely the purpose was money, and the direction was, more money. The growth of Steemit was not real, just as this fall is not, the only thing that generates that illusion of descent is the rise in market prices that was caused by speculators, and that was mainly due to Bitcoin.

Sure there was an increase in users and activity, and sure, now declined, however, was similar to the injection of inorganic credit in the economy, there was no real growth, and sooner or later there should be a correction.

What has really changed?

Well, as the prices fell, many people left, that made the place more solitary, in addition, it caused many to lose motivation not only because of the price, but because they saw that people with whom they had related were leaving. Most of the people I follow are inactive now. In addition, many people feel that everything was dying because there has been comparatively a decrease with respect to the rise.

However, nothing beyond a bit of drama, I would say.

What you say about bringing people can be good, although perhaps we should focus on making the people who are already here feel comfortable doing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21