Understanding the Authoritarian mindset.... Checklist...Part 3

in #blog5 years ago

ppp - Copy.jpg

SHIIIIIIIIIIT!!!.......I'M AN AUTHORITARIAN!!!...that was one of the things I first thought from reading various papers, about the subject...

I know I'm not an authoritarian, but I definitely display some of the characteristics.

So before I carry on with this, I thought I'd do a 'check list' for people, so you can decide for yourself and understand the difference between being an authoritarian personality and having authoritarian traits.
The difference is huge.

There are some fundamental traits which clearly delineate you from being an authoritarian and simply displaying authoritarian traits.
Being a bossy fucker, doesn't make you Stalin, ok?.

1/ Possibly the most obvious identifier. A moral code based in solid personal principles.
2/ Truth being the objective, and not a tool to be utilized.(or discarded).
3/ Being judgemental. While it can be kept well hidden, the more exposed the person becomes , the more judgmental the authoritarian becomes.
4/ Acceptance of others. (linked closely to being judgmental). Because the authoritarian loves convention, from social structure to social appearances, the lack of accepting anything - or anyone - not falling within those boundaries tends to elicit negative feelings towards the target. ( personal criticisms etc.)
5/ One not discussed (yet), but an important one to recognize... if you are trying to work out where exactly you stand in the 'authoritarian' model.
Past relationship history. This can tell you a lot about yourself or another person.
Do you find you are in relationships where your partner is dependent upon you? That is an authoritarian mindset.
I'm not talking about circumstances changing within an established relationship - that's a million miles away from what I'm discussing here.
Couples go through these tough times together of helping and supporting each other, as life in general throws shit your way.

This is not authoritarian, this is cooperation....

NO.....

I'm talking about the kind of dynamic that's set up from the very get go, of a relationship.
One party being financially dependent on the other is a common authoritarian dynamic.
The authoritarian will find these dependency dynamic relationships. (consciously or not) . It gives them a sense of authority, and as said before power over others.
When I first embarked out on this study, I looked in depth at the people I knew/had known in my life, and tried my best to identify the authoritarians (as opposed those exhibiting authoritarian traits).
History is a very good indicator.
One startling fact emerged from this observation. I knew of - or thought I could identity as - four true 'hardcore' authoritarian people.

ppp - Copy.jpg

All four of these individuals had relationships that started with, and were based on, financial dependence.
When the circumstances changed (i.e. life), and financial dependency was no longer the structure of the relationship anymore they all ended.
Badly.

The fourth individual that I knew of?
Well, he ended up marrying his partner ( starting out as a financially dependent one).
That one also ended badly, with a very dysfunctional and disturbed child.
They eventually divorced after years of trauma - the 'dependent' half of the relationship ended up being treated for various psychological issues - even being committed once, for observation.
My brother was the authoritarian in that destructive relationship...

I know this shit, close up - and I understand why this is so important to me.
And why truth is so important to me.

(An interesting side note: the postmodernist puts very little stock in the validity of any history....mmmm. Coincidence? I think not. No history, means no story based in verifiable and objective behaviors....Facts.)

I will use myself as a guinea pig (with reference to the above checklist) , to show the difference between traits and actual personality types.

1/ A moral code based in solid personal principles. This I know to be the case with myself.
Am I perfect? Fuck no - but that _doesn't_change the underlying fact....that principle will always trump expediency.

2/ Truth being the objective. I know this is far more important than winning anything, or being seen to be 'wise'. (very important to the authoritarian to maintain power over others).
I don't care if I'm wrong- as long as it's the that's truth is being sought.

3/ Being judgemental. I am judgemental of ideas, yes - not people lives or choices in life.(like the authoritarian).

4/ The authoritarian loves convention...
... Anyone reading my blog history, and knowing my lifestyles stories over the years - and my experiences - will know pretty well how unconventional I am, and how I detest social structures of appearances, how 'fitting in' is the last thing I have ever been.
Knowing the history of a person, in respect of actions- not words- is a very good indicator of that inner person.

5/ Past relationship history. I've never started a relationship - not once - when my 'new girlfriend' was dependent on me. (I've ran away from a few though, when that was gonna be the case).
Personally - I like my partners to be strong and very independent. Most of my partners have had their own businesses, (as an example) before I ever knew them.

ppp - Copy.jpg

This was gonna be a quick checklist, but seems to have expanded somewhat, so I'll leave what I was gonna write about, until the next part.
As I said, it's much better to really digest this subject in small parts , rather than try to see the overall landscape.

In the next part I'll be going through more traits, more indicators I've noticed myself - and and some strategies to use, to get your 'identifying goggles', on.
If you are not sure about someone, and something doesn't quite 'fit' - or 'feel right' - but you would like to 'get a grip' on where they are really coming from...
..Authentic, or manipulator?
It's an interesting paradox - the authoritarian is both the bully and the coward, consistently predictable in their goals for attaining power, but ultra submissive from any authority that they perceive as 'over' them.

...Yeah, I'm definitely not an authoritarian, I'm just a bit of an annoying twat - to those who are.

ppp - Copy.jpg

Sort:  

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Good stuff, as always, my friend!

For me, relationship guidelines are proper, IMHO, if based on Biblical principles.

Some might call them "authoritarian" some not, but God is is a heckuva lot smarter than me, so I try to live by His practical advice and His commands and principles. Just celebrated my 36th anniversary a couple days ago, and have four well-balanced (if more liberal than I'd prefer) kids all married and in very very good relationships, so... I take that as confirmation...

'Thou shalt not lie'...the biggest 'anti authoritarian' statement there is...

...From just that one statement, 90% of the strategies that the authoritarian uses disappear.

Every authoritarian that I know of, were liars extraordinaire...

...lying is behind deceitful practices, lying is manipulation of truth, lying is corruption, lying is ...blah blah..

I'm not religious as such - but imagine if just that one line was taken seriously throughout society?
...How different would everything in the world now be?

Wow...you do have a gift for elucidating the key points, my friend.

Well done!!

This is closely related with sociopathy.
As in, neither the sociopath, nor the authoritarian should be given any power.

And, this describes everyone who works for the govern-cement that i have ever worked with.


I think i see a handle upon a current relationship i am in.
I was going back and forth on whether there is something wrong, or am i just seeing things.
Am i crazy, or are these people lying to me?


And similar to tests for psychopathy, those who were raised by authoritarians often have many of the traits.

Except for that key piece.

Such as, Sure you are judgemental, but you judge everyone by a solid moral code. Which you should. Else, you just let anyone in to stomp all over your life.

Am i crazy, or are these people lying to me?

I'll try to write my next piece on just how you can find out.

It's not too difficult to ascertain - but it's very difficult to clarify and put onto paper, before I have a couple more coffees

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15