Bojack Horseman

in #blog5 years ago

image.png


I'm gotta start by saying that I'm really late to the party with these adult animated shows, I mostly stayed away from them not because I thought they would be bad but because sometimes the fan bases surrounding these shows are a bit... for the lack of a proper word, I would say toxic... but not in the sense of the word that you would use for an online gaming community like League of Legends or Overwatch... It's just an overwhelming toxicity that makes me stay away from these games/shows and things in general that grow cults so fast...

But last year, after accidentally watching a Rick & Morty song on Youtube (Moon Man for those interested) and listening to the amazing voice of Jemaine Clement again, a comedian/musician that I love, gave me that final push to jump into watching Rick & Morty.

But I didn't start this to talk about Rick & Morty (maybe in the future in another post?) I wanted to talk about Bojack Horseman, a show that I just started watching last week and that I escaped for a while as well for the same reason as Rick & Morty but I gotta say, wow... What an incredible show. Who would have thought that you could feel such a connection with an alcoholic, depressed horseman?

I gotta say this show took me by surprise and it gets quite real, real fast! I'm only just starting the 3rd season right now but I was already in love with the show by the 2nd episode of the first season, probably because Bojack's way of dealing with depression, loneliness and discontent with life mirrors my own descent into depression from time to time and I'm guessing most people like it for the same reasons, the feelings are raw and unhindered and they don't sweet talk you into issues, it's straight down the hellhole, just like in real life.

I just wanted to say that I really love this show and that I'll probably write a few extra posts about it at some point because this show is a goddamn gem and I can't believe I evaded it for so long because of again, the fanbase made it unapproachable to me, just like Game of Thrones, but thats a giant I will tackle at a different time alright...


Thanks for reading my post! If you like what you see, maybe consider following me on Twitter or check out my website The Owl's Den, Its a work in progress but more content will be up soon :-D

Sort:  

Hi, @lunaticpandora!

You just got a 1.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @lunaticpandora!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.791 which ranks you at #4811 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 4812).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 374 contributions, your post is ranked at #128.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 9.93% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @lunaticpandora! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 50 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85