Final Thoughts on my retreat journey. Should You Do a Retreat Journey?

in #blog5 years ago

Previously, I wrote summarized thoughts on my overall experience before posting each journal which I wrote during the journey. However, there are some events missing since I didn’t write about 3-4 days because I felt too weak due the fasting I did during those 10 days. I had my cheat days but those were the days I finally realized that I still have little discipline and control over myself. But, I forgive myself and decided to move on. After this first experiment., I plan on regularly doing something like this every year from now on.

I think this journey has helped me to calibrate myself and clear my mind from junks. Due to my nature of being very fortunate to be surrounded by dramatic characters, I need more energy to be dealing with upcoming complications coming from my inner circle (read: family). That way, I can think more clearly when I voluntarily(actually forced) to be dealing with them. Maybe your complications are different, if you think you have had enough, take a step back.

From this retreat journey, I learned that we live in a world which decreases our attention span.

The current situation prevents us to take time for things we do even as simple as eating. We read overflowing information but understand less. The information we read, listen, or watch is like gushing wind. We can no longer differentiate genuine and credible news. We are constantly fed with saturated information often under the same topic.

This retreat has taught me to accept suffering and pain.

Both are an essential part of life. If you claim to not suffer then you’re not living. Because only the dead doesn’t feel either. I learned to accept and divert my mind to think suffering leads to new doors. It means there will be another opportunity, friends or new knowledge I will acquire.

You will be facing your greatest fear during this journey. An emotional fear.

This part can drive you a little bit insane but as soon as you learn to be friend with it, you will be fine. If it gets too much, take a little break, go outside. During one of my meditation, I have seen all sort of my fears and I told myself to face those images. Those are just images, unreal, and nothing to be afraid of.

As soon as I finished my journey, I feel refreshed.

I didn’t feel attachment towards any of my items. I slowly rebuild a relationship with the people around me.
I feel more productive, I know my priority and I understand people can wait. they can wait for mundane things.
I respect my time and people’s time better. No longer, I feel anxious when someone doesn’t reply me right away.

Another thing important thing I learned, do things moderately.

Depriving yourself of things are not wise either. It will only push you to another extreme.

On a final note, I had fun doing this journey and thank you for following this little experiment. I will be coming on another journey soon.




If you want to read the previous journey, check out the links below:

Signed, M.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01