My journey to the biggest Fusion reactor ITER - Provence

in #blog5 years ago

Trip to ITER.png

Hello, fellow Steemit enthusiasts and bloggers.

As I have said in my "Re-Introduction post" I will take you on a journey of a PhD student, studying Physics. The journey in fact has two meanings, even more maybe... On one hand my blog posts will be about the journey from a nobody in the community to hopefully an accomplished scientist. That is my goal and I am not ashamed to say it. Always be ambitious. In short. One journey will be strictly my own, and you will all be my witnesses. The second journey will be yours, dear friends. I will take you on a journey through the physics of Fusion, my PhD subject. Hopefully we can learn something new together. The third journey will be much less spiritual and much more physical. It will be about the academic trips which I take through my job. These will be a bit more relaxed and a bit more focused on the different regions of this beautiful Earth we occupy that I visit - with photos of course.

All of these types of journeys cannot be divided as they are all intrinsically intertwined.

Today's post will be the first post of several on my trip to Provence which is located in Southeast of France which is mainly known to be a tourist hotstpot and because of its vast lavander fields shown in the picture bellow.

Provansa.jpg

But this is not all of it. The next generation fusion reactor ITER is being built in Cadarache, Provence . And this is the end destination of this trip. You can see a picture I "stole" from the internet bellow.

ITER.jpg

Right now I have flown to Munich airport from Ljubljana airport so I dont have many pictures and stories that I can share right now. But I can share one taken from the airplane when I flew in over the beautiful morning mist covered Bavarian plains. Just to let you know... The window is not foggy. The ground was actually covered with a thin veil of mist. Extremely beautiful.

45491567_316006922336642_2226591177451241472_n.jpg

In the next few days I will be attending a PhD meeting of people working on fusion from throught Europe. We will attend several classes from our European co-workers, as it is extremely important to get to know other people in the field as it broadens your horizon not only on physics subjects but also our personal horizons. We will also be doing some geo-caching events and other social activities.

You can expect a more thorough summary of what has been going on after I fly in to Marseille and after something actually happens. Most probably on Thursday after I attend some classes and after I meet some new people.

If you enjoyed my post please dont forget to upvote and follow me for further similar content. I will see you soon.

Sort:  




This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail in collaboration with @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting both projects for witness by selecting stem.witness and curie!

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13