MedicBtom Weekly Blog #4

in #blog6 years ago

Alright... it is Friday... and i picked up overtime so I worked 5 days since the last time i wrote my blog. So most of this will be work stories which seems to be the most popular part of this blog anyway.

Allergies have been really bad... so i havent been going hiking but went to the park to walk the dog instead. Heres a turtle we found in the grass. Dexter was really fascinated by him.

IMG_4844.JPG

The view one of my days going home... really cool cloud formation.

IMG_4836.JPG

Shooting pellet and bb guns were some of my favorite things to do as a kid. So i am passing that joy down to my step-son. He lights up when shooting a target. Just got some new targets that change color when hit so you can see clearly that i am a much better shooter. lol.

shooting.jpg

target.jpg


IMG_2654.PNG

Work:

Cinco de Cuatro (Arrested Dev reference) and Cinco de Mayo meant it was a busy week... and had a few memorable calls. I had a new intern that started this week so it definitely changes the dynamic a bit. 2 days in he came down with the Norovirus.

man-hugging-toilet.jpg

Sidenote: Never google vomiting and shitting at same time photos... i am tired and thought i was going to find something like funny pics of people hugging the toilet. Wasnt prepared for that.

tumblr_m91stsbIyw1qmt28to1_400.gif

I remember when I first started you get sick alot: your immune system builds as you are exposed to sick people constantly.

CaptainImmune.jpg

WARNING: I love telling these stories as long as they remain HIPPA Compliant. I have combed over them to make sure you cannot identify anyone through the story and my employer will remain nameless. All photos are taken from bing search engine... none of them are from the scene nor are any of the people my actual patients. So to the best of my knowledge i am adhering to the rules... but if you see something that i do not - please... inform me in the comments below and i will fix or remove the issue IMMEDIATELY.

hipaa-logo-certificate.png

bad-mother.jpg

Bad Parenting Part 2:

A man who was tazed by authorities because he came at them with weapons. Well not exactly weapons - it was whatever he could find in his reach which ended up being scissors and a paint bucket.

Started as a disturbance of peace and the man was hopped up on some stimulants and tried to teach someone a lesson but wound up tazed. So next time you see one of those videos where the police shoot someone... its not like that everywhere because this man is very lucky he did not get shot.

Standard procedure to take anyone who is tazed to the hospital due to the electrical current potential to cause and arrhythmia.

Obviously in custody... half way to the hospital he asks what to do about his young daughter who was playing nearby at the park unattended.

giphy.gif


o-COOKING-EGGS-facebook.jpg

High Fever:

Went on a call where someone's mother had been very weak and unresponsive to the point she was unable to talk. Find her in really warm layers of clothing. Recently diagnosed with pneumonia but taking antibiotics for it. Took Tylenol this morning about 7 hours ago. She has a heart rate of 144 and a temp of 106.8F. I personally have never seen a temp read that high before. We removed all warm clothing; gave her ice packs stuffed in her armpits and behind her neck. Cranked the air conditioning to full blast. Established an IV and gave a liter of cold fluid. She woke up pretty happy and started talking to me about how she feels much better and could understand everything I was saying to her but could not communicate to me. Lowered the temp to 104.7F which is still dangerously high but the difference in her appearance was night/day.


febrile-seizures-2.jpg

Febrile Seizures:

I actually went on a few calls that were almost the exact same call: Children between the ages of 1-3 that are sick and have a fever. Parents seem to want to put on warm clothing when someone complains they are cold. Sweating is the bodies cooling mechanism for anyone over the age of 6. Until then; they do not have the capability to cool off naturally. So the temperature can spike fast; within minutes it can go from a regular temp to a high fever. Tylenol is a antipyrogen and will cut down a fever but it must be used intermittently with motrin every six hours because Tylenol is very harsh on the liver.

Anyway... the brain knows something is wrong with the system and tries to reboot which causes a seizure. All neurons in the brain fire off simultaneously. It is important to protect the head from hitting anything nearby. Common side effects are turning blue around the eye lids and mouth; incontinence (peeing); biting their lip or tongue.

All of this leads to a period of unresponsiveness. Still alive but not awake. Or be awake but completely out of it - as in very lethargic and not even acknowledging you are there. This is the postictal state. Oxygen with a high flow rate usually helps the person kick out of this state and recover much faster.

One kid recovered pretty fast and was crying his lungs out the entire way to the hospital while another remained quiet and not aware of her surroundings the entire trip.

I just went from telling a story to full on education mode on seizures.

So anyway seizures can be caused by other reasons other than fever. Blood sugar problems, traumatic brain injuries, withdraw due to substance abuse. Those with TBI and/or substance abuse usually suffer from having seizures regularly for the rest of their lives and know how to deal with it and recover from the seizures very quickly.


320234_1100.jpg

Working the front half day shift we tend to get a lot of lonely women who call us. Mostly for entertainment and/or attention. Had a few of them this week... but this one particularly stands out. African American female called for chest pain. Described her chest pain originating in the left side of her neck and radiating downward past the left side of her chest and to her upper left quadrant of her abdomen. She is very anxious! I run a 12-lead which is a picture of the heart to make sure she isn't having a heart attack... it is clean.

So I ask her: Do you have anxiety?!

She responds: "Oh please don't say that word. I hate that word!
They took away my drivers license because of my anxiety."

After running through every test I can possibly do... I cant find anything wrong.

My partner leans in and whispers "you want me to tell the hospital its anxiety?"

She looks at me and says "what did he say?!"

I quickly jabbed back "Don't worry about it; its the word you don't like"

She says: "Did he call me a N****?"

Me: "What?! no... why would we ever say that? He said anxiety"

Her: "Oh ok.... I was about to slap that motherfucker upside the head."

Me: giphy.gif

meanings-of-health.jpg

Went for a hike... allergies kicked my ass. I went home and had a sinus flare up which became a sinus infection. I get em a lot... its hereditary.

IMG_4798.JPG

We saw cows get loose

and a long snake... not sure what species

https://steemit.com/snake/@medicbtom/kb3dwmfi

What-is-Keto-Flu-and-how-to-cure-keto-flu.jpg

Continuing my KETO diet... i officially got the keto flu. Now mix that in with a sinus infection and that pretty much sums up how i felt all week. But on the positive side ... i am now down about 8lbs. I do like this diet... I'm not really missing the sugar... well my mind isn't. But the whole keto flu is my body adjusting to the burning fat phase and suffer mainly from fatigue.


crypto_host_wallpaper_by_kejnav-d4vs2oo.jpg

Well I completely fucked up this week in crypto. I'm not alone... the price increase of Bytecoin when it hit Binance exchange was too good to be true. And it was...

Up more than 456%
Thank god i didn't buy in when it was 13 cents

But the next day when all the FUD came in... i thought it has lost enough and wanted some of that dead cat bounce money. So i bought Bytecoin @ 280 satoshi or 2 cents

The FUD kept spreading about how Binance created an extra 70 million in coins and artificially inflated the price.

IMG_4848.JPG

1131927567791147922.jpg

Currently as i am writing this... the next day it is at 134 satoshi or 1 cent. It will eventually go back up but I'm stuck in the whole for awhile.


IMG_4839.JPG
Stock Market:

tesla_model3-1200x600.jpg

TSLA

Well after last weeks sideshow with Elon Musk acting inappropriate during an earnings report conference call which tanked the stock. I knew it would rebound because the earnings report beat expectations and had a very positive outlook. On Mon and Tues TSLA went from 290-304. Been sideways since then so i got out at the right time.

NVidia_GeForce_Logo.jpg

NVDA

Its been pumping all week in anticipation of earnings. I played the run up and made enough money on the hype to be completely satisfied and pulled out just prior to earnings. But at the last minute i said: Ehh... they've gotta be strong so i bought a call... way outside the money as a gamble. I was correct.. they completely blew away the numbers. Expectations were 1.40/share and they made 2.06/share with an increase expected in Quarter 2. But the stock dropped after the report... not very much and i don't expect the drop to continue in the morning. The market is weird like that sometimes... what more could you want from a company and for some reason it moves in the opposite direction.

facebook-friend.jpg

Facebook:

Facebook has just been crushing it. Up a few points every day. Easy money. From Mon-Thurs it was $$$.


Music-random-31688456-1366-768.png

Music:

I usually prefer heavy rock but i do appreciate all forms of music. Saw this when Donald Glover hosted SNL; he also appeared as the Childish Gambino for the musical guest.

Different but really catchy and this music video won me over.
Powerful Statement and some really crazy dance moves... a true artist here.

Even Crazier after you watch this:


Credit: Insider


Weekly MEMES FOR YOU TO ENJOY:

IMG_4850.JPG

IMG_4849.JPG

IMG_4851.JPG

IMG_4838.JPG

IMG_4828.JPG

IMG_4840.JPG


Until next weeks blog: Stay safe and have a good week!

medicbtom.png

Other recent posts by me:

https://steemit.com/howto/@medicbtom/how-to-create-a-moving-picture

https://steemit.com/animation/@medicbtom/superhero-deathmatch

https://steemit.com/followers/@medicbtom/1700-followers-reached

U5du7oHWNNkRsQpBk5o1XBdpanrUGKW.gif

**All pictures that were not from my iPhone where taken from bing and google search engine

Sort:  

You just planted 0.58 tree(s)!


Thanks to @medicbtom

We have planted already 5153.20 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22196.81
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

I agree with you on Warren Buffet, Bitcoin is not the stock exchange!!! Different commodity? currency? Different rules than the ones he is used to. Go Bitcoin Go!!!!

mixed feelings... I don't really mind when it stays flat or goes down because It gives the opportunity to buy more. Crypto is here to stay... get as much as you can now!

I also do like to buy low, but I really appreciate it if one of my coins have a bull run, and I can sell off a bit, and maybe buy more again at the retracement or dip. But I do agree, we have to buy as much as possible!! There are such stunning projects at the moment...

This is a great post @medicbtom, you have touched on a lot of interesting topics 👍
I liked the most parts about your walk with the dog, the trip on which you met the cows and about shooting together with your step-son - it's great that you spend time together! ✌👏
I had the pleasure with reading this! 👌👌👌

Yeah... family time is important. Thanks for the feedback!

Awsome. You really did hard work for this

Thanks! I write this one throughout the week after work. Some of the sections ill take out of this large blog and release it separately like the paramedic and investing sections.

Keep it up! Please upvote me

Wow another great article man! A standout quote for me was "Well not exactly weapons - it was whatever he could find in his reach which ended up being scissors and a paint bucket" 😂 . I once again really enjoyed the medic stories section but also found everything else in your post to be of interest as well!

haha... yeah - you cant make this stuff up. Thanks for the kind feedback. I like your taste in music.

Haha thanks!

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85