The Heatwaves are Gone, the Wind Is Back -- Time For Some Wind Surfing!

in #blog6 years ago

The past weeks, or even months, have been extremely hot in the Netherlands. This was nice since we usually have a lot of rainy and cloudy days even during the summer. The downside of this stable weather, however, is lack of wind.

The past weeks I really wanted to go surfing with some serious wind. I was F5-ing the weather forecast web pages as if I was a student waiting for some exam results. There were a few semi-ok days, however, they never lined up with my schedule.

The past week the weather forecast for tomorrow (Friday) were looking pretty darn good. The only problem, work... Well, who cares about work right? I took a day off and even convinced some of my colleagues to join me! Here's what to expect:

Screen Shot 2018-08-09 at 20.55.48.png
Courtesy of windguru.cz.

It's been many weeks ago since I was last on a surfboard. I can't wait! In case you are bored tomorrow you can check out our surf skills on the live cams below. I'm also bringing a GPS watch to measure my speed. I've never done this before so who knows what will come out!

So to end this post, since my weekend started today. Have a great weekend everyone!

Sort:  

Quick reply: busy with surfing and stuff😇

Did you enjoy it as much as I did?😍 can we expect a post about the gps results?

Hey @guchtere, you went as well that's great! Where did you go? I had a great time! I was quite busy though. All my favorite boards were already taken at the surf rental. I ended up with a very small (for my skills) board of 120 ltr. That was an interesting challenge, especially with the rough water :)

Where did you go surfing?

Of course, I forgot to turn on the GPS tracking half of the time, but I have some data that I will post here later this week. You can check Strava too if you want.

For oncoming Saturday, the forecast looks quite alright too. Thinking I might go again!

For sure i sailed out on the water! Have been surfing at multiple spots but most of the time at Kamperland and Wolphaartsdijk.

Sorry to hear you didn’t have your favorite board at the rental! 😔 wich one is your favorite board? I sailed with three different boards (130lt, 120lt and my 105). 120 is my first and favourite board i think🤔

Saturday does evenknow still looks pretty good! Where will you go surfing?

How did you forget the gps? Isn’t it set and forget?

What was the biggest challenge with the smaller board?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Lekker. Brouwersdam is tof. Het waait hier zo erg dat het goed moet komen!

@michelmake How's life?
Did you catch some winds last week!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09