First (Artificial) Wave Surf Attempt

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

As I've mentioned in my last post, there wasn't any good wind for windsurfing this weekend. As an alternative, I tried to wave surf for the first time in my life. I did some boogie boarding when I was a kid, but that was only a few times.

Since there isn't any real surf spot in our area, we had no choice but to try out this new artificial wave machine nearby. It is basically a machine that pumps water over a wave-shaped structure.

It was quite fun to try it and play around a bit. Here's a video of me and my friends trying it out!


And here is a picture of the area:

Screen Shot 2018-05-06 at 18.14.12.png

As you can see this place also has a wakeboarding track. Pretty sweet!

Thanks for watching!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That looks like a lot of fun. It seems like you all did very well, especially if you haven't done it before. :)

Yeah, it was great fun! I wanted to keep going longer to get better, but we ran out of time so quickly. I guess that's a good sign :)

That looks like so much fun! I would have loved to try that and not be afraid of sharks at the same time :)

Yes, it was great fun! If you ever have the chance to try it out, for sure go for it! With some board skills, you can do it easily!

Super cool! I’ve only seen these on cruise ship advertisements and I always wanted to try.

In my area we have wave pools that make one large wave every few minutes but nothing like this wave. It’s even more neat being in a natural body of water as opposed to the concrete and chlorinated kind.

Quite entertaining! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! Yep, if you ever have the opportunity, you should definitely try it! And the fresh water is nice indeed, although I would prefer that salt water even more :)

Thanks for checking out my post!

Its so denger I think hehe

Hi @farhan12, thanks for checking out my stuff! The water looks quite wild, but there is not much that can go wrong. The currents behind the machine aren't that strong. Also, there are emergency stop switches everywhere on the pontoon in case something would go wrong.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @michelmake! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10