1st World Problems? Back from the Outernet.

in #blog5 years ago

Well, 4 days without home internet was interesting and I'm probably going to get a huge mobile phone bill now! It's funny how you get used to things a certain way. You can adjust a certain amount and try to do things how were done before internet, but it's become so entrenched that many of the old ways we did things are obsolete.

Our usual downtime together is watching Netflix, which was out of the question. For the first time in ages we actually tried standard tv. It was brief, to say the least...

Because the internet was out, I couldn't use the home phone, so I would have been pretty isolated if I didn't have transport. It makes you feel for those in poverty and the elderly. We have so much technology to keep us in touch in even far flung places, but the moment you don't have access to it, you're more out of touch than ever. Families are often far from each other with work commitments. People don't meet up in person as much. It's not so bad when you're just a phone call away, but when you have no phone it can get lonely.

On the positive side, I actually had a lot of spring cleaning and sorting out to do, so less distractions came at a good time! My daughter's bedroom is finished, we're just waiting on the carpet fitters. In the meantime I've been cleaning and decluttering like crazy as they really don't need to see the state the house got into while other things were prioritised! Also, the internet connection is in our bedroom; the room that gets lowest priority on the cleaning schedule. When I realised that the technician would have to go in there to figure out why it wasn't working, I was horrified. I spent nearly two whole days trying to sort through years of put off paperwork and found some missing things hiding in the dust under the bed!

I'm sure I'll make that promise not to let things get to that point again…

In good news, the swelling in Puddin’s mouth looks like it's finally shrinking a bit and Precious is finally getting things moving through her crop a bit better. This morning it was empty after having a good amount in it last night. That's not happened for a while.

20181106_150436.jpg

Since the thunder storm in the early hours of Friday morning took the internet out, we've had a good amount of rain with intermittent sun. The garden is loving it! It's a real rarity at this time of year and after a winter drought I'm loving it too!

~○♤○~


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube


Join Us On Discord

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I went outside once. The graphics were amazing, but the gameplay sucked.

If only we could find a way to incorporate the two. 🤔

It's great to have outernet every now and then. (I am definitely gonna use this term very often.) I sometimes turn off the modem when my neices and nephews come by and visit us so the kids will run around and play and be noisy and just be kids without those mobile games they spend so much time on.

Congratulations on your successful clean up. I bet that feels good. I feel good when I clean up a messy room, I feel better when I find things I thought I lost already, I feel really really awesome when I find money in the mess. Haha.

It is pretty satisfying to see a clean, tidy room, especially after its been a mess for a while. I've got a bag of stuff to take to the charity shop too which is also satisfying. More space created!

Great read @minismallholding! And great name! Outernet. Being out in the sticks we also have outernet. Our service provider does not feature our farm valley very high on his priority list so we are often a day or two with the net (and like you that means the phone) The difference is we have no cell reception so we are then truly cut off. We've learned to adapt. My husband is more the tech/gadget guy but I like the forced solitude. Gives you time to talk without all the continual unimportant beeping interruptions!

I too like the solitude and the removal of the distractions. However, I also got a feeling, which I was trying to put my finger on when writing this, that most of those you know would find it too much effort to make the time to actually see you physically if you dropped out of the technological world completely. It's just so much easier to stay in the quick connect world with the others there. I find this a bit sad really.

Posted using Partiko Android

Also, the internet connection is in our bedroom; the room that gets lowest priority on the cleaning schedule. When I realized that the technician would have to go in there to figure out why it wasn't working, I was horrified

Lol, this part got me. That moment when a total stranger is about to discover one of your dirtiest secrets.

So the Thunderstorm and lack of internet did have its positives.

And as regards the issues you raised in your first two paragraphs, I will say technology has a way of isolating us but at the same thing it gives us this false sense that we are connected. There are friends I have not seen in years although we live in the same town. Because we can chat and text we fail to meet up the old traditional way and it's sad to think that losing their contact or internet can separate you from these persons easily. Friendships don't last long this way. It's only a matter of time before you both drift apart

Haha! The dust under the bed was thick enough to hide some things!

I will say technology has a way of isolating us but at the same thing it gives us this false sense that we are connected.

Well put. It reminds me of a futuristic story I read on here, where everyone had chips implanted and saw everything through those chips. Those that didn't have them were seen as ghosts in the periphery. Just there enough to avoid bumping into.

That sweetcorn? Is looking great bet its loving the rain to. I hate it when the internet goes out cant remember the time i last watched normal TV. Have a great day

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it's sweetcorn. It always needs so much water and food, so it's looking nice and lush at the moment. Standard tv is pretty abysmal. At least at the time we're available to watch it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ive only tried to grow sweetcorn a couple of times with little success, makes sense really as it was in raised beds that dry out quick. Im never around when the programmes i want to watch are on either but the online catch ups are handy, no good with no internet though hope its fixed quick

Posted using Partiko Android

I know some people don't grow it because of its high consumption for the amount produced. The plant itself will feed our rabbits too, though, so I justify it. Plus, so tasty when the cobs grow!

Haha! Yes, its often better to catch programmes on things like iview, but internet needed again! Internet's back for the time being.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad its back on 😄 ill probably give corn another go next year just need to think about where i put more carefully and do a bit of reading on the best variety to go for 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

No internet = no steemit = Argghhhh!!!

4 days without internet ! I'd feel simultaneously liberated AND having massive withdrawal... hahahahah :D

WELCOME BACK!!!

also, it's nice to hear that puddin's swelling has finally calmed down :)

Yes, I certainly felt both!

Amusing and amazing how pathetically crippled we get when the internet disappears isn't it XD

Yay for getting stuff done and chickens getting better :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Isn't it! What really worries me is that the more reliant we become on it, the less options are available for when it fails.

It's amazing how much cleaning you can get done without it, though. XD

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71