The New MoneyHacks Blog - A SteemPress Experiment

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


So my language for my Steemit posts may seem a little different going forward as I'm testing out the bells and whistles of SteemPress and how it intergrates with the Steem Blockchain.

And what better way to fully test the features of SteemPress than actually starting a blog and then seeing how this goes over the next year or so.

Can you really make money on a Blog and the Steem Blockchain at the one time?

I didn't think so, but since since discovering SteemPress a few weeks back I'm thinking it's worthy of an experiment, so until further notice you'll find these posts in two places.

Plus I could actually, earn some money in both places so that would be nice.

On Steemit and on my new Money Hacks Blog.

Why Create a Separate Blog


Well to be honest SteemPress is more for existing bloggers, but how can I recommend this Wordpress plugin without fully testing it myself. As some of the concerns I have are:-

  • Do my posts format correctly on Steemit?
  • Will I get penalised via search engine for duplicate content?
  • Can I make both entities unique so I can drive traffic to both locations?
  • Will I be hit by the cheetah bot on Steemit, for duplicate content?
Now I feel I know a few of these answers already, but testing is the only way to be sure.

And hey, since I have a way to create a 100% free self-hosted blog for a year, it's not actually going to cost me any money to try this out. I'll share this creating a free blog method with you in the coming weeks, so be sure to bookmark my website to discover how.

Or if you're reading this on Steemit right now then be sure to follow me, to be the first to find out when I release the post.

Another upside to posting first on Wordpress is I'm much more comfortable in the WYSIWYG Wordpress editor anyway.

Anyway, thanks @steempress-io for creating such a wonderful reblogging tool for the blockchain and I'll be sure to do a full review as soon as I've completed a few test posts.

PS: Ignore the formatting on the blog for now. I'm looking at a magazine styled theme, but as always you need content before you can style up the website. (Tip for noobs)

Image:Pixabay


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.moneyhacks.me/the-new-moneyhacks-blog-a-steempress-io-experiment/

Sort:  

Wow! I'm suitably impressed @steempress-io nice job!

Notes to self:

  • I think Wordpress saved the tags in alphabetical order
  • Using a featured image totally got picked up during the reblogging process
  • Headers, bold tags, bullet points and links all worked as expected
  • The Steemit URL isn't SEO optimized

First Impressions - I L.O.V.E. It!

I blog on Wordpress and was interested when I heard about the plug in. My biggest concern is that, as you suggest, I'll be cited for double posting. The formatting looks great, and with time, you probably could figure out stylistic refinements that work well on Steemit and Wordpress. Keep us updated, please.

There is a delay feature, which allows you to post 'x' minutes later. I will probably set this to 12-24 hours, to give the google bots enough time identify the blog is the primary source.
It's all testing but I'll be sharing my findings over the next few months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69