Real Talk: Thoughts After One Month

in #blog6 years ago

It has been one month since i first heard about Steemit and registered here. What a colorful ride it has been i have got to say. I have so many thoughts, discoveries about it and about myself that i just have to post some of them.

One Month

It all started one afternoon when i talked with my friend @m31. We had some catching up to do when she told me she had spent last 9 months doing blogging. I was like "cool" and was happy about her expressing her inner writer. As soon as I heard my trigger word money i got hooked. Some you you guys know how business minded person i have become and this seemed were interesting to me, as it probably is to many.

Blue Mountain Lake in Ogre. A photo from my weekend at the lake with my friends. 

I truly believe most of us wouldn't be here if there were no value to us. Most of the value comes back from good content in form of crypto. I really liked the concept and thought this would be a great chance to earn extra pocket change on my down time by posting something i care about in a cool and easy way.

At first i didn't realize how much time it takes. I also didn't realize how many hardcore dedicated people are here.

Heres what i think about it.

Staying Active 

The biggest struggle for me is finding enough time for this. Making good content takes time. Even one hour is a lot to me.  This is because i work regular office hours, i tend to stay late, plus i play sports and am pretty occupied with my private business ventures as well. It is simply extremely hard for me to find time to do serious blogging.

Relaxation is super important as i already run in overdrive mode.  Lately i had to take some time off this just to have some time for me and hang out with my friends. I feel i was pushing it hard first couple of weeks and run out of gas. This is the reason why you haven't heard from me in a while.

Steemers Are Up In The Air.

I am sorry and i hope nobody will get offended by what i have to say next. I am a very keep it real person and here is what impression i have on Steem guys when it comes time spent here.

To me it's crazy how people rely on this so much that they don't have a real job. Whenever i am online there are people just posting all day. This is what they do. Maybe they are on next level. If they are popular and get paid well, i see the point, but its hard to see how they dont have nothing else to do.

Up In The Air is expression we use in my country for people who hasn't got a strong foundation to something. To me social securities i get by having a good job, money i receive from government if i run into problems or future money in form of pension is important. I dont believe Steemit users realize they are fighting with one leg in the bucket.

To me growing as a person professionally and having a career is uber imporant. You will not succeed if you are not out there doing things. You won't have a successful business if you are not out there and trying your hardest. Yes, here you can earn money, but you have to have skills useful later in life if this goes bad. Or you have to be very dedicated in this way of life and being able to find next thing if this doesn't work out. My point is, if you are a teacher or a doctor, dont quit your daily because some computer geek has traded his way up.

Cmon now, are you seriously saying that you are the man of the house and you will provide for your family and your future by sitting at home and just hoping for some votes from random people. Sorry, but i dont buy this for a second.

All these stories about one guy buying house, other has 100 grand on the account is complete bullshit in my opinion and messes a lot of people up. Think,  you have to set some cash on the side for slow periods, you have to also think about olden days and have some sort of savings for the future as well. I really hope guys that dedicate their whole working day for this know what they are doing.

Most of the people are very nice here, i hope this won't come and bite them back.

Maybe it is just my philosophy of life that real men need a strong foundation and solid income, and solid future. This is priority. All rest is secondary. 

Me just before getting in to the water. Yes, i got the surfers tan line.

Future Plans

Of course want to stay here and post some more of my photo stuff. I don't want to invent another bicycle. AT first i wanted to find "my thing" and seems it will be photography and travel posts every now and then.

I don't believe i have more than 1 - 2 posts per week in me to be honest. Sorry guys who post 3 blogs a day. That is a bit out of my range for time i have for this adventure.

People I Have Online Met

During this one month i have made some really nice connections with other Steemers and i am really happy for that. I haven't met you guys in real life yet, but it will happen. I am hoping for some big gathering where we can discuss our future.

All guys and girls have their own thing and this is a eye opener to me. I really hope everybody succeeds in their own way.

Thank you all for reading. I know i was a bit hard on some points. I dont even know if i have made my point clear, i simply have no time to go over this. I wish you all a nice and productive day.

Feel free to make comments and call me out on some of my points so we can have a friendly discussion. 


Sort:  

Glad to see a bit more man candy on this website, pretty tired of all the naked bitches already. JK, or not 😏

I like the way you are not afraid to say that money means something to you, I'm so fed up with people who claim that money means nothing to them.

I can bet he will become full time steemian, just like you and me :D (I have read your recent story) @eveuncovered

Well, i am glad you like my photo. Nothing naked or crazy, just me in swimming trunks! Kinda liked that one since it was not a selfie.

Smart girl! I feel really happy to hear that from you. It is an interesting discussion i'm sure we are going to have at some point. :)

@milosm2302 I seriously doubt it. I like having it as something on the side. Some extra income for expressing myself or sharing my photos. Social media full time is not for me.

That said, i want to complement your photo posts. You have really good picture and quality stuff. :)

I was just kidding. I think that it is the real way how we should look on this, something on the side.
Ahha Thanks, I don't believe they are good, I am just an amateur :D
I followed you after your first travel diary post, it was amazing for total beginner (:

You're honest and that is great. In fact, the more honest members like you on Steemit, the more the chance this platform has to survive and prosper.
I agree that this might be a ''new job'' for many successful Steemians and good for them! But it is not the case of the majority.
I believe we should be on Steemit for the pleasure of sharing posts and having some rewards (better than on Facebook or Instagram where only your ego gets rewarded), but not solely depend on it to make a living.
I also post once a week, since I have many other life projects ongoing. I believe it's a good way to maintain your presence on Steemit. Those that post daily surely have the time to do so! But I don't necessarily feel inclined to read them daily either...

Thank you for sharing your opinion. I am glad i triggered a bit of opinion exchange! :)

I like your approach and thoughts!

Congratulations @mrttouchdown! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09