Day 7 -- Some Yoga, and Some Climbing

in #blog5 years ago

January 9th, 2019

More Yoga Than I Can Shake a Stick At


I approached Day 7 with a bit more hesitation than normal, due to the shellacking I received on Day 6 with the strong core work out. I was relieved when I saw that the session would only be 17 minutes long, and wasn't going to be quite as core-centric.

The theme of Day 7 was "Surya" -- which didn't answer a lot of my questions right out of the gate, but the video description suggested...

Welcome to your Day 7 Dedicate practice! Today we honor Surya, the sun, finding a good stretch, the perfect rinse, and a welcoming of CLARITY. This 17 minute session is the perfect remedy after your Day 6 practice too! Go at it with a gentle ease. Soften the shell. Salute the sun. Feel out each gesture with an inquisitiveness.

So after wrapping my head around what to expect -- we dove in for 17 minutes or so of sun-salutation vinyasa flows. I'm not sure if anything that I just said makes sense -- but that's my story, and I'm sticking to it. This session saw a couple different variations of moving in-to/out-of downward-dog. There was a bit of deep lunging with heart reaching out to the sun and hands stretched to the sky thrown into the mix, as well.

I did find though, that the pace of the movement in this session was quite a bit quicker than previous sessions, which is good. After managing to find my rhythm, it was relatively easy getting to a point where I could listen to the session, and be about 1-move behind, so I always had something to flow into -- rather than just holding and waiting to find out what was happening next. I find it interesting that I typically get a small handful of 'light-headed' moments if I'm managing my breath in a way that it seems to be correct -- is this the intended effect? Or is my heart just not strong enough to keep up with the movements, the breath, and the act of going from a forward fold to a mountain pose reaching high to the sky...? Regardless -- it's not a bad feeling. Kinda dig it.

Not a whole lot to talk about for last yoga session -- it was pretty short. I'm fired up for this evenings session. It's called 'meditation', and she's wearing pyjamas -- so I think I'm in for a relaxing evening!


IMG_20190109_075950.jpg

After yoga last night, I met a buddy at the climbing gym for a solid try-hard session. I'm rapidly discovering that my tendon / grip strength is still there and doing fairly well -- but my skin condition and overall muscle-strength is not what it was in Spring 2018 when I stopped climbing regularly.. I managed to thrash my way up a few tricky 5.11a routes -- but they felt WAY harder than they should have.

My grip strength, balance, and technique felt similar -- but I could feel my shoulders, core, and arms rapidly fatiguing, and anything that required some serious pulling felt really difficult. And my skin -- holy crap I'm falling apart. Most of the fingers on each of my hand look like I held them up against a sanding belt, and they're crazy dry. I need to take some time to let the calluses come back before I start going hard.

ezgif.com-optimize.gif

It was really quite busy in there last night

I suppose that's kind of the blessing and the curse with climbing -- it's not just pure muscle-mass that gets you up the wall. A lot of it is tendon strength, which takes a long time to develop (and hopefully to lose). Slowly starting to get back into a rhythm with yoga, and I'm hoping that I can maintain this level of energy and ramp back up with climbing and running as well. I brought my running gear to work with me today, so I'm hoping to get out at lunch time -- it's currently not calling for rain, so lets hope it stays that way.

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @upvoteforsteemit. I am an automated upvotebot. This comment will automatically be posted under each post I upvotet.
Du hast ein Upvote vom @upvoteforsteemit erhalten. Ich bin ein Testbot und laufe automatisch.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79