Not how I was going to spend paddy's weekend.

in #blog5 years ago (edited)


I had it all planned out. The roster was sorted from work. I was out the door at 3pm on Saturday and not back in until 2pm Tuesday. My first weekend off in ages.

The plan was simple. Head to dublin and stay with my best and oldest mate. Go out for a few on the Saturday night. (A few in ireland means 6 pints 8 vodkas, probably a bottle of wine plus whatever else takes your fancy along the way and end up in coppers until 5am.)

Then on the Sunday we would do it all over again. Big breakfast in the morning, head to a pub for the early pints and clear the head before hitting croke park where we had tickets to the football and hurling all Ireland finals. It's our yearly tradition. We don't meet up as much anymore since we live on opposite sides of the country but this is one we always make. After the matches it would be into the heart of the city to enjoy the St Patrick's celebrations and sample all of the fun.

It's always one of the best weekends to be around. There are big matches on, lots of people around, a massive street party and everybody out for it.


Alas.

It is not to be this year.

With the worst timing in the world I was sick at work Thursday. Then again on Friday and had to leave early into my shift. I had hoped to just take Saturday off and recover enough to head for dublin. Instead it got worse and I'm now lieing in a hospital bed with no chance of pints this evening. It's a sad state of affairs.

It seems to be the appendix which will be a surgery at some stage today and a month off work. This is really going to kill my actifit for the month I think.

To be honest I'm not too pushed about going for surgery or being sick but the timing is killing me. Really gutted to miss my weekend in Dublin. 😭😭😭😭

On the plus side some of the nurses have been very nice to me so far. 😎 That's mainly why we were going to coppers in the first place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Aww dude! That is a proper bummer! I thought for sure you were going to say it was the flu, but yeah appendix is no joke. Hope you can get a few brews when you heal up!

There is no flu that would have kept me in this weekend. I would have filled up on vitamins and whiskey and powered through it. Its been done before.

Appendix isn't the worst thing in the world bit I will take me out of action for a few weeks. Unfortunatly it couldn't be avoided or pushed back. When it goes it goes. Lucky I caught it really as I was trying to wait out the pain and make for dublin. If I hadn't gone to the late doc it could have burst along the way somewhere.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no, how crappy, thats a shit buzz. Did u have the op? Are u okay?

Posted using Partiko Android

Ya I'm put of the op now sp just in recovery. Pumped full of morfine and anti biotic so loving life for now. Hopefully it last through to the morning.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha enjoy. Anything you would like to share with the world right now?

Posted using Partiko Android

Think I already did to the nursing staff in the room. Don't remember saying anything but just have that bad feeling of saying something I shouldn't. ..... 🤕

Just like drunk niall really.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry to hear the unexpected change of plans but at least you caught it in time! Would have been worst to happen during the festivities. Wish you a quick recovery buddy. I guess plenty of Steem Monsters coming soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'll have to go full time steem for the next month it looks like. Become the first pro @steemmonsters player.

I was feeling a bit better today before surgery and was thinking I might have gotten the weekend out of it but probably not a good idea. At least the morphine perked me up a bit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Gosh, maybe your appendix was trying to tell you something about binge drinking? 😋
Good luck with the surgery. And make sure the nurses feel really sorry for you!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was just worried they would have to take the liver out too once they had me open. Can't be looking too healthy at this stage.

Posted using Partiko Android

Get well soon!
Lol, you should not worry about actifit in this condition. Maybe at the end of your 1 month off you can visit your homie in Dublin (?). Keep your head up :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks man. But I do love hitting my actifit every day. At least I should be back on my feet within a few days it's just work I'll have to avoid for the month. I'm not good at staying still.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like your nurses will take care of business. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll try my best. Having a bit of fun with them so far.

Posted using Partiko Android

Of all the weekends for your appendix to blow up, harsh!

On the plus side, it's pretty cheap to stay in hospital, and I'm liking the sound of a month off work.

Oh and we need more nurses on Steem - see what you can do :)

Sorry. Keeping the nurses for myself. I'll need something to keep me busy for the month off. Won't say no to an extra break especially if I am fit again in a few days.

Dying from missing this weekend though. It really is one of my favourite parts of the year and meeting up with my crowd.

Posted using Partiko Android

I heard it's generally a quick recovery, just don't over-do it on the exercise front.

It is a big weekend, but money and calories saved - got to look at the bright side, maybe the nurses can help :)

Should be fine within a week they said and thats being safe. I will just have the long break from work since it involves a lot of lifting and dragging which doesn't mix well with surgery. Might have to go full on steem that month instead. See how much can be done.

Posted using Partiko Android

lovely write friend
thank you for sharing
resteemid

Thanks for reading and sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Jesus Niall I hope you are alright boy! Nothing worse than have plans ruined by sickness. I was the same this morning. Was looking forward to heading to a parade , I ate something dodgy and I’ve be hugging the two buckets all day. Nothing near your sickness but my plans are gone for the next 24 hours

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm sound. Appendix decided to be a prick and ruined my weekend. Had surgery to take it out yesterday but been in hospital for a few days now. Wouldn't mind but the weekend that was in it. It will be a few weeks off work now too.

Sorry to hear about yours too. Never nice when it happens and again timing sucks on it.

Hi @saoirseronan!

drugwars

Received:

  • 4.893 STEEM from daily
  • 2.601 STEEM from heist
  • 0.000 STEEM from referral

Spent:

  • 6.202 STEEM

Total:

  • 1.292 STEEM

First transfer was before 28.96 days.
Your ROI per day is 4.17 % and you are earning approx. 0.26 STEEM per day.

ROI when taking only the last 5 days into account

Your ROI per day is 4.06 % and you are earning approx. 0.25 STEEM per day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13