Perfectionism

in #blog5 years ago

Perfectionism is a sneaky program. I know it all too well. It appears in ways our culture glorifies. For most of my life I have thrived off it. Do you too? Something tells me I’m not alone in this.

Society sees it as grace & professionalism.
But behind closed doors it manifests as over-preparing, endless analysis, & countless revisions.
We view it as a strong work ethic & leave the consequences out of mind, or imagine it comes easily to a person.

Those entangled in the addiction in light of perfectionism lose sight of spontaneity & forget the beauty of moment-to-moment vulnerability. We forget that intuition has a better plan than the left side of the brain ever could.



I am practicing letting go: I plan less, trust more, & feel the energy of the people in the room.
It’s scary.
And it’s awesome.
It’s unknown.
And I feel alive.
It goes against the grain of a lifetime.
And I’m loving it. While also hating it.

Slowly I am learning how to surrender what has always only been a false sense of control.
There is no perfection. Only this moment.... this breath.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23