Vegan lifestyle: take it from JIM

in #blog6 years ago (edited)


My boyfriend’s father is visiting this week. He is vegan. He is 65 years old.

5 years ago he weighed 220 lb and decided to change his lifestyle by becoming vegan. He now weighs 165 lb and feels great. He says that he never felt hungry on the vegan diet.

For those of you that don’t know, the vegan diet is entirely plant based. No animal products at all. No cheese. No eggs. No milk. No honey (this is only for the die-hard vegans)

He tells me that he used to be on a statin for elevated cholesterol and his MD said he was at risk for having a heart attack or stroke. After 2 years of vegan diet he returned to the doctor and was able to come off the statin. He has had his cholesterol checked multiple times since and it's "perfect", he says.

Me: “What made you want to go vegan?”

Jim: “I saw a move called Fat Sick and Nearly Dead. At that time I got in to juicing but still ate meat. Then I continued to watch different sensational health movies that contributed in part to my changing lifestyle. The film that specifically me experiment with stopping meat consumption was Forks over Knives. “

He said he considered the food industry’s impact on political corruption and environmental health as a high priority, but ultimately became vegan for his own health and the rest was just an added bonus

Jim says “ Everyone should do it.
Anyone who is interested in saving the planet should be vegan “

He goes on to say

“Beef and dairy production contribute more to greenhouse gases than all forms of transportation combined. “
and
“1/2 of the of the land on the continental US is used in animal food production. “

Well Jim, you’ve got my attention. I think I will try to switch to vegan and do my part for the planet earth. When I was in my early 20’s I tried being vegan for socio political reasons and I ended up getting really sick and actually stopped menstruating. I went to a alternative healer (since I was a hippy at the time ) and he said that I “needed blood” . He was a chinese herbalist and did his diagnosis by looking at my tongue, eyeballs, and ears. It was quite interesting really. Then he sent me home with some gross tasting herbal pills and told me to eat meat and stay out of the wind.

Sure enough with in a couple of months on the pills and diet I was feeling better again and started menstruating.

I’m willing to try it again. I do like vegetables. I’ll do the research and prepare myself for the transition and we’ll see what happens. Between giving up straws and giving up animal products I can actually make a small difference.

Sort:  

Beautiful .. well done
Yes the personality was wonderful can say it was balanced
Thanks for sharing‏/..

Vegan food is the healthiest there is, it is the healthiest for our body, you just have to have the willpower to change your lifestyle and leave all carbohydrates aside and start a new life. I congratulate your boyfriend's Pope. regards

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post was showed by 4 different accounts to 19.000+ followers.
19.000+Followers can see you.(@tenorbalonzo,@hakanlama,@cemalbaba,@asagikulak) Send 0.200 Sbd or Steem. Post link as memo for

Loved this! I also believe that a vegan diet can make such a great difference, for one's health and for our planet! Jim is a perfect example of that, I'm really happy for him! 😊

be advised that High cholesterol is due to sugar consumption not animal consumption: https://blogs.webmd.com/heart-disease/2017/07/how-sugar-really-affects-your-cholesterol.html

Vegan people life longer because they have a healthy lifestyle.

Vegan food is good for health and it supports living longer. recently I shared an article for vegan peoples: How to increase your protein intake without meat and dairy products: http://bit.ly/2kEjYor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85