Website Update #1 - Witness UtilssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog5 years ago

Hey there y'all, trying to get back into posting often even if that means that I'm posting way too often in a short amount of time sometime. I updated my website for the first time this week, and I think witnesses will like what I've put together at least!

pjtaggartv2 repo
pjtaggart.com

I basically just added some Steem witness utilities on this update, as well as some more css fixes and a bit more of my steem profile information. The following were added, with planned updates to each part included below the description.

Witness Rankings

Screen Shot 2019-04-10 at 7.59.21 AM.png

I added a witness ranking table, sorted by vote of course, with drop downs with some information about each witness. Active witnesses are found by checking the signing key to see if the witness is disabled and seeing if the time since last block < ~10k hours; this solves the steemian.info problem of witnesses that are new and haven't signed a block yet showing up as inactive. If a witness has never signed a block, their time since last block is 'Never'. Pictured is @therealwolf because his website was my inspiration for the next feature, although I think his still looks prettier than mine :)

Planned updates: more information about each witness included, will probably end up looking like my witness information table in the 'My Steem Profile' page. Sort options are also in the works as well, although I'm not sure what sort parameters to add other than missed and last block, leave some suggestions if you have some!

Witness Schedule

Screen Shot 2019-04-10 at 7.58.57 AM.png

Shamelessly inspired by therealwolf's pretty blue card schedule, I set up a witness schedule of my own! I was actually trying to figure how to calculate time to next block, but that is a much harder algorithm I think, so I just put this in for now. It's a bit glitchy when the schedule updates, but it works pretty well. Active runner witnesses are found in the same way as above, and ranked by their 'scheduled_virtual_time' parameter, so the schedule is accurate as far as I can tell.

Updates: Adding witness rankings to the currently scheduled table, and trying to figure out how to calculate time to next block (could be pretty hard/impossible, we'll see).

My Steem Profile

Screen Shot 2019-04-10 at 7.59.50 AM.png

Of course, I didn't want to just add in stuff for other people :P so I added in a page with my steem profile info on it! For now it only has wallet and witness information, since those are easily available with two or three API calls, but I'll add more. Posts are already available in a different page, so maybe not that, but curation, comments, etc. could be added, as well as reward tables. Was trying to figure out how to calculate the number of blocks signed, but that might require a block traversal to find it, so that could be a bit out as well. This is all client-side JS, so that would be ridiculous to offload to the consumer.

Updates planned: rewards and curation tables, comments and votes, possibly more meta information.

More Updates?

Was thinking of also adding in a 'Search User' page, to get all of the info included in my steem profile about any user you'd like to find out about, which shouldn't be too hard to add in. Any suggestions are welcome, this is a public site so it's more for all of y'all than for me :)

Vote For Me as Your Witness

Cheers, thanks for reading! If you like my tools and content and would like to see more, Vote for me as witness or proxy your votes and I'll pick the best witnesses for you!

My Projects

Pjtaggartv2- My website, built in React Typescript with Redux and dSteem, with more info about me as well as some Steem utilities you can use!

Pywit- A witness tool-kit built in Python on top of Holger80's Beempy.

Sort:  

Hi, @petertag!

You just got a 0.19% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77